Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Anyone have Lightwave? I have a quick favor to ask!
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:38 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2006-05-25

I’m trying to make an artwork for a friend for the holidays and I downloaded the perfect free 3D model for it. It’s a Lightwave model but I can import it into Poser without any problems other than the prop can only be “opened” in Lightwave… and I need it open for this render. It doesn’t need to animate, I just need a static open prop.

Could someone with Lightwave help me real quick? The site said it would open and close so I know it can be done but I can’t do it on my own. :(

It’s a Doctor Who model and the author said this was cool as long as we didn’t redistribute the modified prop.

Please help!!

 Signature 

~Lizzie P.
Visit Dream 9 Studios for art, graphic novels, and more.
My RDNA Store | My Renderosity Store
Facebook | Twitter | deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3870
Joined  0

Sure, fire me an email at jack @ jacktomalin.com (remove the spaces) - about to log off for the evening but will do it first thing in the morning.

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2006-05-25

Thank you so much!!! I’m very grateful and will send you an email ASAP. :D

 Signature 

~Lizzie P.
Visit Dream 9 Studios for art, graphic novels, and more.
My RDNA Store | My Renderosity Store
Facebook | Twitter | deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3870
Joined  0

No problem, all part of the service smile

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 02:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8134
Joined  2009-05-14

Bryce can open some lightwave formatted props, then you can save out as an OBJ. But using LW will make sure all goes well. Just thought I would mention it in case you come across this again. smile

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 02:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14784
Joined  2003-10-09

If the groups have come into Poser you may be able to use the Spawn Props command to break it up, then adjust the position of the parts that need to be opened. Spawn props is on the tool pane that opens when you select the group Editor tool

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 10:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  254
Joined  2003-10-09
LizzieP_D9S - 12 November 2012 01:38 PM

I’m trying to make an artwork for a friend for the holidays and I downloaded the perfect free 3D model for it. It’s a Lightwave model but I can import it into Poser without any problems other than the prop can only be “opened” in Lightwave… and I need it open for this render. It doesn’t need to animate, I just need a static open prop.

Could someone with Lightwave help me real quick? The site said it would open and close so I know it can be done but I can’t do it on my own. :(

It’s a Doctor Who model and the author said this was cool as long as we didn’t redistribute the modified prop.

Please help!!

I know Jack’s already on the case, but for future reference you can also download a fully-functional, 30-day trial version to work with.

—Walt Sterdan

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 03:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2006-05-25

@Szark
I don’t think I have Bryce though. Is it free now? I’ll keep that in mind for the future.

@Richard Haseltine
The prop imported somewhat okay but the groups did not so I couldn’t do that. Thanks though.

@wsterdan
Trouble is, I wouldn’t know what I was doing in it! smile

Just want to say that Jack is AWESOME. The prop is now perfect and he went above and beyond. I am so happy right now and I know the friend whom I’m making these artworks for is going to be thrilled!! :D

I’m now going to the DAZ shop and see what stuff of his is on my wishlist to buy….

 Signature 

~Lizzie P.
Visit Dream 9 Studios for art, graphic novels, and more.
My RDNA Store | My Renderosity Store
Facebook | Twitter | deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3870
Joined  0

Hey you’re welcome smile

Be sure to post the final image too - curious to see how it turns out!

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 03:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2006-05-25
Jack Tomalin - 13 November 2012 03:26 PM

Hey you’re welcome smile

Be sure to post the final image too - curious to see how it turns out!

Will do! I’m working on it now… actually working on two because that props works so well I’ve just got to use it again!

 Signature 

~Lizzie P.
Visit Dream 9 Studios for art, graphic novels, and more.
My RDNA Store | My Renderosity Store
Facebook | Twitter | deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 04:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  114
Joined  2005-11-18
LizzieP_D9S - 13 November 2012 03:01 PM

@Szark
I don’t think I have Bryce though. Is it free now? I’ll keep that in mind for the future.

@Lizzie yes bryce is still free for 7.1 pro so grab it while you can, also hexagon is the same so worth grabbing it just in case.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  93
Joined  2005-10-28

Jack!  You are D Man!  That’s awesome!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2917
Joined  2004-04-14

For future reference, the following programs can also convert LWO

Poseray (freeware)  - https://sites.google.com/site/poseray/

Deep Explotation - http://www.righthemisphere.com/products/dexp/ - 30 day,  fully functional Trial.  See my tut here - http://www.mediafire.com/view/?adtf0812j6py43i - for a quick how to.  After the 30 days is up you can still open and view models but you cannot export them

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 10:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1248
Joined  2004-06-13

Blender has a Lightwave importer, though I have never used it.

http://www.blender.org/download/get-blender/

 Signature 

Push buttons, see what happens!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 November 2012 12:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  116
Joined  2006-05-25

Okay, just finished this though I’m waiting on a friend (who’s a Whovian) to give me the final okay on it before I give it to the recipient. smile

It’s called “The Doctor Vs Godzilla” and the friend it’s for is a big fan of both, thus why I came up with this odd idea. I’m making a closeup portrait now with just the Doctor, the screwdriver prop, and IDL lighting for a cool effect and to show off all the details. My friend is going to have a heck of a Xmas/birthday this year! I’ll post the portrait artwork once it’s finished but I’m still adjusting the IDL settings to get them looking perfect.

Thanks again so much! Neither of these artworks would pass the Whovian test without that open screwdriver! (Both will be printed at 16x20 so every detail counts.)

Image Attachments
lzpd9s_doctor-vs-godzilla.jpg
 Signature 

~Lizzie P.
Visit Dream 9 Studios for art, graphic novels, and more.
My RDNA Store | My Renderosity Store
Facebook | Twitter | deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 November 2012 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3870
Joined  0

Just to clarify - my original thought was, well Poser can import .lwo’s anyway - but it turns out that firstly the model wasn’t really ‘poser’ ready, and needed a tweak here and there. Secondly, the model wasn’t set up with any groups, but the ‘open’ action was infact a LW morph target.  So I have a feeling that most apps would have had trouble getting that an exporting that, rather than the static default.

Lizzie - that render turned out pretty cool!  Who’s feet are those in the background? They don’t look too friendly wink

 Signature 

Part of the Platinum Club admin team
Visit my DAZ store
Honorable member of the Bald Wizards Club

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1