Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 3
1
3D Starter pack
Posted: 11 November 2012 03:47 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10

Will the fairy items in the 3D starter pack (http://www.daz3d.com/shop/daz-bundles/3d-starter-pack), sku 2635 work in DAZ Studio 3.1?
I have both DAZ 3.1 and DAZ 4.5, but prefer to work in 3.1.
If the fairy items do NOT work in 3.1, is there an easy way to save the 4.5 file in 3.1 format?

very respectfully,
fleetpp

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 03:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2005-10-16

Although I am not a Studio user I can say that all those products predate 3.1

So yes, they will work unless Daz updated the files to the new standard.

 Signature 

Gone.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 04:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10
jmper - 11 November 2012 03:52 PM

Although I am not a Studio user I can say that all those products predate 3.1

So yes, they will work unless Daz updated the files to the new standard.

Thank you for responding.

I understand that the items pre-date DAZ 3.1 (I have an ‘old’ faeire forest package that I got as a freebie when I first got DAZ 3.1).

I never could get the faerie items to work properly with DAZ 3.1 (the scene would open, but Victoria 3 and all of the items were gray). 

I don’t want to spend $14.95 plus tax to find out I can’t use the faerie items.

Can someone who still has DAZ Studio 3.1 verify that the faerie items in the 3D starter pack will work with 3.1?

very respectfully,
fleetpp

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14335
Joined  2003-10-09

If the items are in DAZ Studio format, rather than Poser format, then I think you will find that the uvs are garbled in DS3 and 4, and as a result they will not be useful - though if you get Poser format figures you could use those, with DS material presets (which should still work - it’s just the uvs for the saved scenes that are probably broken).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 04:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2408
Joined  2003-12-06

Note that if the item is old enough (I think before D|S1.8 came out) it won’t load in D|S3 or 4 — the way the data files were saved changed. And I can’t remember how old that starter pack is. The only fix I know of (if this is your problem) is to load the items in D|S2, re-save, then they’ll work in 3 and probably 4. Of course, this is only possible if you still have an old D|S2 installer.

 Signature 

Gone to Vegas to play poker. Back when I run out of clothes.—Your Muse.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10
SpottedKitty - 11 November 2012 04:21 PM

Note that if the item is old enough (I think before D|S1.8 came out) it won’t load in D|S3 or 4 — the way the data files were saved changed. And I can’t remember how old that starter pack is. The only fix I know of (if this is your problem) is to load the items in D|S2, re-save, then they’ll work in 3 and probably 4. Of course, this is only possible if you still have an old D|S2 installer.

I don’t have DS 2; I searched for it, but all I can find are links to downlaod DAZ 4. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 04:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  925
Joined  2007-01-04

I think that pack is all Poser formats, the confusion is that some of those items came with DS1 as part of the manuals tutorial, they were in DS native formats.

If they are in DS native formats then DS3 wont be able to read the UV settings, but DS4.5 can, support for the old files was added around 4.5.0.114

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 11:11 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10
Bejaymac - 12 November 2012 04:42 AM

I think that pack is all Poser formats, the confusion is that some of those items came with DS1 as part of the manuals tutorial, they were in DS native formats.

If they are in DS native formats then DS3 wont be able to read the UV settings, but DS4.5 can, support for the old files was added around 4.5.0.114

Bejaymac,
Thanks for the response. I like your avatar. I don’t know how tell if the contents are in DS native format.

Can anybody confirm or deny that the 3D starter pack items will work with DAZ 3.1 (somebody who has actually tried it)?

very respectfully,
fleet

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 11:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  691
Joined  2008-10-19

I have the 3D starter pac and I used it in DS3 ,some of the things I had to hand load the textures,but other then that I don’t remember any problems.
I have since uninstalled everything except the fairy clothes for V3 and the Fairy forest so I can go double check on those if you’d like.
Umm all of the parts I have are the Poser files not DS files sooo I don’t think it came with DS files or I deleted those too if they didn’t work .

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 12:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10
carrie58 - 12 November 2012 11:27 AM

I have the 3D starter pac and I used it in DS3 ,some of the things I had to hand load the textures,but other then that I don’t remember any problems.
I have since uninstalled everything except the fairy clothes for V3 and the Fairy forest so I can go double check on those if you’d like.
Umm all of the parts I have are the Poser files not DS files sooo I don’t think it came with DS files or I deleted those too if they didn’t work .

Yes, if you have DS3, I’d appreciate if if you could text the fairy clothes and Fairy Forest.
When I tried the ‘old’ fairy forest the other day, the fairy dress, V3, fairy wings were grey. Only the wand had proper color.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  691
Joined  2008-10-19

Well I went in and rechecked ,the files I’m useing are the poser files Cr2,pp2 ....and they work in DS3 would you like a screen shot or a render??
Nevermind here is a render

Image Attachments
V3_FF.png
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 01:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  691
Joined  2008-10-19
carrie58 - 12 November 2012 01:05 PM

Well I went in and rechecked ,the files I’m useing are the poser files Cr2,pp2 ....and they work in DS3 would you like a screen shot or a render??
Nevermind here is a render

Idea post a screenshot of your grey stuff…...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 02:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10
carrie58 - 12 November 2012 01:15 PM
carrie58 - 12 November 2012 01:05 PM

Well I went in and rechecked ,the files I’m useing are the poser files Cr2,pp2 ....and they work in DS3 would you like a screen shot or a render??
Nevermind here is a render

Idea post a screenshot of your grey stuff…...

Here are a screen shot and a render of what I get with the ‘old’ fairy forest.  I did notice that your fairy had shoes and mine didn’t. I looked at the files, and the have DAZ as the extension, not cr2 or pp2.

Image Attachments
fairy-forest-screen.JPGfairy-forest2.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  925
Joined  2007-01-04

fleetpp what you have there is the free content that came with DS1 and not the 3D starter pack, so unless you have DS1 or 2 or 4.5 then they won’t work for you.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 04:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  691
Joined  2008-10-19

What I would try fleet ,is once your scene is loaded,go to the surface tab and try loading the textures by hand and then resave the scene,that should get you back to a functional scene .......

Okay the wings texture should be found in DAZ/clothing/milwoman/V3…...
Plant , rocks textures should be in   DAZ /environments/FF….....

Profile
 
 
Posted: 12 November 2012 04:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  104
Joined  2010-08-10
carrie58 - 12 November 2012 04:08 PM

What I would try fleet ,is once your scene is loaded,go to the surface tab and try loading the textures by hand and then resave the scene,that should get you back to a functional scene .......

Okay the wings texture should be found in DAZ/clothing/milwoman/V3…...


@carrie58,
The wing textures were where you said they would be, but when I tried to load them using the surface tab they still didn’t appear.
Since you got it to work using DS3, I believe Bejaymac has the correct idea: that what I have is the DS 1 content, and not what is in the 3D starter pack.

I appreciate the help, and feel I can purchase the 3D starter pack with confidence.

very respectfully,
fleetpp

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 3
1