Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Save a morph once it has been imported back into DAZ
Posted: 11 November 2012 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2009-06-13

Hello,

I transferred V4 model into Hexagon using the DAZ->Hexagon bridge.

I then made some modifications and sent it back to DAZ. The morph appeared as “My morph” and was applied.

I then saved the file in DAZ to “mynewV4withmorph.duf”

However when I reload that file my new morph is missing from the model and isn’t applied.

How do I save the morph so I can import it back into the model and into other V4’s ?

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6636
Joined  2005-08-15

What did you save it as in the Save As menu?

I use Save As > Support Asset > Morph Asset(s), and it is loaded each time I load the default Genesis.  Select your Morph in the menu that appears.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 06:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2009-06-13

When I try to save it as a support asset in the file menu ->

It says

Resource error:

“you must save Figure/Node Assets before you can save Morph Asset(s)”

and if I try to save the entire figure it says I must convert it to a weight mapped figure first… which doesnt’ sound right to me.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 November 2012 06:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6636
Joined  2005-08-15

Sorry, my mistake,

Since it is a Gen 4 figure, you have to use Save As > Deprecated > Pose Preset, and follow the path in the menu to the morph you want to save.  I just did it, and it works OK.  I am using DS 4.5.1.6.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2009-06-13

Using DS 4.5.1.6:

I tried using Save As > Deprecated > Pose Preset and then selected the morph. This saves with a .ds file extension which is a script rather than a morph and it doesn’t load into new V4 models.

Morphs are pp2 or pz2 files I think.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6636
Joined  2005-08-15

DAZ Script files perform lots of functions.  PP2 files are Poser Props, and PZ2 are Poser poses or MAT poses.

I tried this and it does work.  Where did you save the DS morphs to?

I saved mine into the My Library folder, into Presets > Poses, and the file is saved as a DSA file (plain text).  Load V4, make sure it is selected in the Scene pane, and then find the Morph in your content, and double click to apply it.  DS should also have created a thumbnail for the Morph.

EDIT:

The morph does not apply immediately to the figure.  You have to go to the Parameters pane, and use the slider there.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 November 2012 06:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2009-06-13

Don’t know what to tell you,

I created a morph using Hexagon, saved it as a deprecated pose file. And it doesn’t load into a new V4.

I’m pretty sure scripts cannot be used to save morphs all the morph injects I’ve ever seen are .pz2 files not .ds

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 November 2012 03:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6636
Joined  2005-08-15
HentaiTentacle - 13 November 2012 06:56 PM

Don’t know what to tell you,

I created a morph using Hexagon, saved it as a deprecated pose file. And it doesn’t load into a new V4.

I’m pretty sure scripts cannot be used to save morphs all the morph injects I’ve ever seen are .pz2 files not .ds

DAZ Scripts can be used for almost anything, and as I pointed out already, PZ2 is a POSER file format.  PZ2 files work inside DS, but they are not a DS native format, DSA is.

Where did you save the created file to?  Which folder?  Did DS4 create a thumbnail for it?  Can you see it in the Content Library pane?

When you select a V4, and double click on the DSA file, what happens?  Have you looked at the Parameters pane to see if the morph is there, you will need to move the slider in the Parameters pane to apply the morph?

What version of DAZ Studio are you using, I am using DS 4.5.1.6

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 November 2012 05:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2009-06-13

I saved the morph in the default DAZ pose preset folder, DS4 did create a thumbnail for it, I could see it in the library pane but when I load V4 and double click it, nothing happens the morph is not applied and its name does not appear in the parameters tab.

There is no error message, just nothing happens.

I am using DS 4.5.1.6
and Hexagon 2.5.1.79

Profile
 
 
Posted: 16 November 2012 08:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1881
Joined  2012-03-24

I want to know how to save the morph for V4 M4 A3 or other figure too. (not genesis,, or prop)

though I can load obj whenever I want as morph target by morph loader,,
but it seems not good way,,

when I first try to make morph for spuggles,, I could not find the answer .
(I did not know about poser at all, so just tried it to save as ds files, but as for me, I need to change the spuggle
to triax weight figure first, then save as morph (ds file),,)

Now I tried same things about M4 . after save the morph (choose the path , under morph loader section, then check it)
as dsa pose file, then load new scene, load M4, select M4 root, apply the pose preset,,
not happen. I tried both first save morph value full, and next save morph value zero,,
but about both case,, the dsa file can not apply as morph,, (or I need to serch not under morph loader category?)

I can make morph and load it to ds.
and I can save the scene with morph as duf, and it keep the morph and controller I made.though I did not save it as morph yet,,

but I can not the save moprh, as same as I can with genesis,,,

I think there must be right way,,so if I need set option when save it as dsa?
or if need to change M4 to triax figure first ?(it seems not better way,,, though I can save the morph,,)
or use poser file exporter tool? rolleyes

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2014 02:44 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  646
Joined  2008-02-22
HentaiTentacle - 14 November 2012 05:40 PM

I saved the morph in the default DAZ pose preset folder, DS4 did create a thumbnail for it, I could see it in the library pane but when I load V4 and double click it, nothing happens the morph is not applied and its name does not appear in the parameters tab.

There is no error message, just nothing happens.

I am using DS 4.5.1.6
and Hexagon 2.5.1.79

Hmmm…I got the same problem here as the above, and I am at risk of having to shut down the computer soon.  If I save the scene. does it save this morph in the scene, or am I going to lose it if I can’t get this working?  (Ricahrd, any tips here?)

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2014 05:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5059
Joined  2012-04-07

why do I bother?

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 11 March 2014 08:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  646
Joined  2008-02-22

I am able to get the morph in DS.  Actually I got it by bridge,and I also got it via OBJ and Morph Loader Pro…I just cant save it in any way that works from DS

I probably need to ask in the DS Forum.

 Signature 

+800 or so old forum posts, just so you know I’m not a newb!  tongue laugh

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 April 2014 11:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2244
Joined  2005-09-05
3doutlaw - 11 March 2014 08:08 PM

I am able to get the morph in DS.  Actually I got it by bridge,and I also got it via OBJ and Morph Loader Pro…I just cant save it in any way that works from DS

I probably need to ask in the DS Forum.

I vaguely remember creating morphs for V4 back in DS3 and saving the figure. As V4 was a cr2 file have you tried exporting the object with the morph as a cr2 file?

It would be useable for personal use but you would need injection and removal files for distributing the morph if you want to share.

Edited to add link to a thread bejaymac posted in http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/14126/#206896

Bejaymac - 30 December 2012 04:36 PM

The biggest problem is that your making morphs for a Poser figure and trying to save them in DS, which is something most try to avoid.

If you plan on distributing the morph for others to use then it HAS to be in Poser format, and you only really have two choices on how to do that with DS.

1) Get your morph into V4, then go “File > Export” and create a new Poser .CR2, your morph will be written into the file, then you use a program like Injection Pose Builder or Injection magic to strip your morph out of the CR2, it will then write it out as an Injection PZ2, which is what you distribute.

2) You can do it all in DS if you wish, in DS4 Pro we have the EXP exporter, you can use it to either make an EXP based Injection PZ2, the morph channels work the same way as V4’s ie you need to run the BAT file to create the channels, or you can use it to create a normal Injection PZ2 which will use one of the Legacy channels.

Link to the DAZ docs on EXP http://docs.daz3d.com/doku.php/artzone/pub/tutorials/exp/tutorials

It took me a while to find which menu to use so I thought I’d add the info here.

Go to the scene tab.

Click on the triangle on the top right hand corner ( same menu as adding a smoothing modifier.)
Go to Assets/ExP Export.

You need to have a legacy figure loaded.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 April 2014 11:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2244
Joined  2005-09-05
Patience55 - 11 March 2014 05:17 PM

why do I bother?

Because you’re very knowledgeable and also kind enough to take the time…;  )

Hugs

Pen

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 April 2014 07:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5059
Joined  2012-04-07
Pendraia - 07 April 2014 11:42 PM
Patience55 - 11 March 2014 05:17 PM

why do I bother?

Because you’re very knowledgeable and also kind enough to take the time…;  )

Hugs

Pen

Thanks. wink

 

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1