Digital Art Zone

 
     
Obj files created on one computer will not load on another
Posted: 09 November 2012 09:44 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

I have designed a pair of shorts using hexagon for the genesis character - on one PC which is a brand new computer Intel I7/32GbRam/Windows7 64bit Pro. The shorts were exported as wavefront OBJ from Hexagon and they import to the Genesis character perfectly ok in Daz Studio on that same PC.

However when I drag the OBJ directory onto the other PC which is Intel Core2 Auaq / 8Gb Ram / WindowsXP Pro SP3 it will not let me import the exact same pair of shorts onto the Genesis character at all. The program lets me select the OBJ and goes through the motions of importing with all the scroll bars but they never appear.

I have zoomed out of the picture area just in case they have imported in the air as sometimes happens but NO they are absolutely nowhere to be found on the screen.

Please could anyone shed some light on why computer 2 will not import the shorts as my genesis character is looking decidedly chilly without them!

Thank you

Terry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 10:18 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6648
Joined  2005-08-15

Does the OBJ appear in the Scene tab?
If so, it is a scale problem, and you should click on the Camera Frame icon in the viewport with the item selected.

OBJ is the industry standard and should open correctly on any machine.  Is it the same version of DAZ Studio you are using on both machines?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 10:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Do they show up listed in the Scene pane?

There’s a very good chance, that instead of importing very large and in the air, they are microscopic and between the character’s feet.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 10:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

No - there is nothing between the characters legs. It just does not show at all.
The DS on one machine is the 64 bit the other machine is the 32 bit - it’s the 32 bit version which is not working.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 12:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Is it listed in the Scene pane?

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 12:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

No, it is as I said above. A OBJ file created as an export in Hexagon which is then imported into Daz Studio in the File Import option.
You then right click on scene and asset the object to the model.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 01:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14288
Joined  2003-10-09

Not the viewport, which is what you are meaning by scene, but the Scene pane which lists the things that you have loaded - Windows>Panes(Tabs)>Scene.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 01:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Ahh I see - yes it in the scene tab…. I tried to asset it to genesis but the program crashed.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 November 2012 01:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  239
Joined  2011-10-27

Problem solved - for some reason DS on the second computer was bringing it in at 42000% of the original - sorry folks I did not spot that.

Must have run out of memory!

Thanks

Terry

Profile