Digital Art Zone

 
     
going to install 4.5,what about my old stuff?
Posted: 06 November 2012 08:11 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2011-01-03

OK I’m going to install 4.5 but I would like to how whats going to happen to all my current content. Am I going to lose all of it requiring me to reinstall it all or will it still be there after 4.5 is up and running?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 09:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Depends on where it is and how it’s currently mapped to DS.

If it’s under Program Files (like it would be for XP, if you are using Windows), then, while not quite ‘getting rid’ of it (it will still be there, physically), it just may not show up.  Same with if it’s all in a Poser Runtime setup.  If you are using 4.0, it will uninstall (you may have to it manually) all the ‘included’ content, but not the user added stuff.  You will need to install the Genesis Essentials package to get that back.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2011-01-03

Well I think I got most of my content in my documents/daz folder but I think there is some of stuff in the program files as well. guess I’ll just have to install and then look though a see what needs to be reinstalled/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 10:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4659
Joined  2008-03-06

Don’t forget to get the script to update your .dsf clothes, hair, etc. so DS4.5 can use them.  http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/740/


If you get the “duplicate IDs” error, this should fix it.

 Signature 

My store at DAZ.

My Deviantart gallery.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 10:17 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Fabe_ca - 06 November 2012 09:20 PM

Well I think I got most of my content in my documents/daz folder but I think there is some of stuff in the program files as well. guess I’ll just have to install and then look though a see what needs to be reinstalled/

You could simply cut/paste the content to the documents folder and be done with it…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 11:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  83
Joined  2011-01-03
mjc1016 - 06 November 2012 10:17 PM
Fabe_ca - 06 November 2012 09:20 PM

Well I think I got most of my content in my documents/daz folder but I think there is some of stuff in the program files as well. guess I’ll just have to install and then look though a see what needs to be reinstalled/

You could simply cut/paste the content to the documents folder and be done with it…

Well it looks like I don’t have any content in my current;y installed daz 4 Program folder but I do have plenty in my old daz 3 program folder. I guessing I should move the stuff over to the 4.5 documents folder after i install it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 12:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

If it’s a 3 setup, it may be quicker/easier to map to it in 4.5…especially if it’s a large amount of data.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile