Digital Art Zone

 
     
reshaping a isolated section of a model?
Posted: 06 November 2012 03:05 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2011-08-12

Hi
Is there a way to use tools like soft selection, soften and displacement brush in such a way that they will only effect a particular region of the model, say a nose for example without there being any risk of altering any surrounding geometry you don’t want to change?
any help would be appreciated
thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 11:14 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  250
Joined  2009-01-27

Yes. That’s what those items are meant for.

Those tools plus brush size and zoom factor gives you complete comtrol.

 Signature 

For any arguments or illustrations I give, my system specs are:
Hexagon version 2.5.1.79,  XP pro 32 bit,  pentium core2 duo,  ATI radeon 3870, 2 gigs ram

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 10:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2011-08-12

I don’t think you understood my question
What I’m wondering is if there is a way to make broad changes using those tools while masking out the rest of the model from them

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 11:14 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2200
Joined  2005-09-05
Son of Belmont - 06 November 2012 03:05 AM

Hi
Is there a way to use tools like soft selection, soften and displacement brush in such a way that they will only effect a particular region of the model, say a nose for example without there being any risk of altering any surrounding geometry you don’t want to change?
any help would be appreciated
thanks

not sure if you can but I was wondering if you could create the section into a material domain and hidethebits you don’t want to change…not sure if this would work or not. The only other thing I know is the padlock which is for a complete object…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 01:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  277
Joined  2005-09-15

Soft selection indicates its area of coverage by highligting the vert’s with what ever colour you have set up in your preference editor.  In my case bright red.  You then control the area of selection by adjusting the settings found in the tool panel on the right, whilst looking at the screen at the highlighted vert’s. This thus gives you local control within which to do your worse.  But I would suggest you make a copy of the object;  save it as a new file and then practice on that first.  smile

 Signature 

Cheers, Fanners.raspberry

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 02:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2200
Joined  2005-09-05
RedSquare - 07 November 2012 01:19 PM

Soft selection indicates its area of coverage by highligting the vert’s with what ever colour you have set up in your preference editor.  In my case bright red.  You then control the area of selection by adjusting the settings found in the tool panel on the right, whilst looking at the screen at the highlighted vert’s. This thus gives you local control within which to do your worse.  But I would suggest you make a copy of the object;  save it as a new file and then practice on that first.  smile

true, this does work but I thought he’d already tried it and it didn’t suit his purpose? I may have misunderstood though as I’m home sick and on antibiotics….

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 07:04 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1284
Joined  2008-01-01

Making an area invisible does mask it from the effect of soft select - but you may not like the abrupt transition when it is made visible again:)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 08:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2011-08-12

Making an area invisible does mask it from the effect of soft select - but you may not like the abrupt transition when it is made visible again:)

It doesn’t do it for me
how are you making the area invisible? I have just been selecting the faces and clicking the icon for hide selected faces

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 09:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2200
Joined  2005-09-05
Son of Belmont - 07 November 2012 08:48 PM

Making an area invisible does mask it from the effect of soft select - but you may not like the abrupt transition when it is made visible again:)

It doesn’t do it for me
how are you making the area invisible? I have just been selecting the faces and clicking the icon for hide selected faces

if it was me I would create a new material domain and hide it through that menu. You can remove the material domain once you’ve finished needing it.

Roygee is correct that you would need to be careful with the edges make sure the soft select is away from the edge and unlikely to impact on the transition between the two bits. 

Also make sure you save frequently so if you stuff up you can go backwards.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 10:36 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4685
Joined  2012-04-07

Not sure if this is 100% repeatable all the time, but I’ve noticed sometimes when I’ve selected a group of faces or vertex - and then picked one of the brushes [inflate or soften], it was affecting only the area I had selected before choosing the brush.

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 11:29 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1284
Joined  2008-01-01

Like Pendtraia says…

Of course, to be 100% certain that only the area of interest would be effected, you can extract that area to make a separate mesh and re-attach afterwards.  You would lose any UV mapping and textures, though.

Always experiment on a copy:)

Profile