Digital Art Zone

 
     
Sometimes DS4 can’t find the textures?
Posted: 05 November 2012 06:06 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

Some figures, even when they have DS4 settings, don’t seem to work right in DS4.  Two such figures being Caleb and another being Addy’s Daniel. 

If i’m in the basic runtime, i can load the poser skins just fine, but if i’m in the upper ladder, where the Genesis stuff is and the Daz specific files are, the files aren’t working.  They ask me to load EVERY SINGLE TEXTURE manaully, and it’s a MAJOR PITA to do it every time I use those characters (and I like them a LOT) and it’s driving me absolutely batty!

Can I edit the files or anything to make them work properly?  i don’t get why some characters work fine (my other characters by Addy work fine, for example, I have no clue why ‘danelle’ does not ).

Any suggestions?
Thing is, it SAYS “could not find texture….” and then lists the correct directory, where it IS indeed located, but when I open to find the file, it doesn’t take me to that location and i have to dig through the texture files to get it.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 07:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  156
Joined  2010-11-26

I have problems in DS4 with Addy’s Zoey as well.  It loads the correct HSS settings but not the skins. My work-around is to apply the skins manually and save them as Material Presets in DS.  Hope this helps.

AL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 07:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  811
Joined  2008-09-17

The main issue is that the Poser files (.pz2) use relative file paths (“Runtime:textures:xxx:texturefiel.jpg) while the DS specific files are save with absolute file paths (C:Program file\DAZ3D\Studio\My Library\Runtime….). You can edit the files only if they are .ds or.dsa.  The material settings will be at the bottom of the file.  A file editor like Edit-Pad lite has a search & replace function that will let you edit the file paths easily & quickly

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 08:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

how do i make it save properly? when I save it only lets it save as a txt file. :(
I must add that I absolutely want to fix them… they are favorite textures for me (I love EVERYTHING by Addy!!) And I use them so frequently that it not loading properly is driving me BATTY!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 08:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  949
Joined  2007-01-04

The highlighted area of the attached pic is how DS saves it’s pathways in DS, DSA & DSB formats, it uses relative paths the same as Poser, the only time if gives me an absolute path is when I load the textures from an unregistered directory, and then save a preset.

DS4 pro comes with the Script IDE plugin, this allows you to edit DS, DSA & DSB files directly in Studio (that’s where the screenie was taken), that way you can see if it’s an absolute path or if there’s a typo in the pathway, to use it right click the DS/DSA/DSB file and select “Open in DAZ Script IDE”, then expand the pane to see the data.

The Script IDE used to be part of the Script dev kit so most people never knew it existed, but it’s an extremely handy tool to have.

Image Attachments
pathways.jpg
 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 09:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25
Bejaymac - 05 November 2012 08:49 AM

The highlighted area of the attached pic is how DS saves it’s pathways in DS, DSA & DSB formats, it uses relative paths the same as Poser, the only time if gives me an absolute path is when I load the textures from an unregistered directory, and then save a preset.

DS4 pro comes with the Script IDE plugin, this allows you to edit DS, DSA & DSB files directly in Studio (that’s where the screenie was taken), that way you can see if it’s an absolute path or if there’s a typo in the pathway, to use it right click the DS/DSA/DSB file and select “Open in DAZ Script IDE”, then expand the pane to see the data.

The Script IDE used to be part of the Script dev kit so most people never knew it existed, but it’s an extremely handy tool to have.

wow… i do believe i love you now! thank you :D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 11:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  811
Joined  2008-09-17

The times I’ve saved material presets; the file path was saved as absolute.  & it was to a mapped directory.

Thanks for pointing out the Script IDE plugin.  I’ve got a few binary files that are giving me issues loading textures & this should help me to fix them.

 Signature 

Resistance is futile.  You will be DAZzimilated


Old post count: 5719

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 02:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

Dammit… well that script ide works with fixing Danielle’s paths, but Caleb is in the (very annoying) DUF format so I can’t edit it. NONE of it works. It was made for genesis, why won’t it work??? Grrrr. Not the inj files, not the textures, it just won’t work.

Edit: bother… I think I may be missing files for Caleb, so i go to reinstall, and discover that the order that caleb was in was mistakenly closed for some reason.  I had gotten 2 of the items in that order refunded, and somehow it ended up closing the entire order…. and yeah just got the refund for 2 things, not the whole order, so it can’t be that…. all the other items are removed from my itemized order history so I can’t download them anymore either… sigh.

Must be that the daz sales support is just too stressed out with all the mistakes in the last couple sales….. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 04:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  766
Joined  2012-07-21

The duf files are compressed, they’re basically zip-files. You can open them with your favo zip-program, the file inside is a text file just like the ds, dsa and dsb files.
There’s a batch convert tool in DS4.5 so you don’t have to extract them all manually, but haven’t used it myself yet.

 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
my store at DAZ3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 04:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25
BlackFeather1973 - 06 November 2012 04:07 AM

The duf files are compressed, they’re basically zip-files. You can open them with your favo zip-program, the file inside is a text file just like the ds, dsa and dsb files.
There’s a batch convert tool in DS4.5 so you don’t have to extract them all manually, but haven’t used it myself yet.

Um my zip program 7-zip fails to open it, not working…. :(

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 04:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1681
Joined  2006-09-09

definitely put in a bug report for the ones that aren’t working - the original products will stay unfixed unless they know about it. smile

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 05:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1618
Joined  2005-02-25

well i may have installed half of it, I want to reinstall but like I said, the item is erroneously missing from my account history so I can’t redownload it…. waiting on sales support to get it again. yay. >_<

Profile