Digital Art Zone

1 of 2
Faeryls Questions About Daz ?????
Posted: 05 November 2012 04:51 AM   [ Ignore ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  615
Joined  2006-05-18

I am in the middle of making an outfit for Genesis and undecided exactly how to do the bones.  There are several products both pay and free one’s that I like a lot and want to take a look at how the bones were used in them.  Is there a way to view the bone structure of a piece of clothing in the new Daz?  I am hoping by seeing how bones are done in these other clothes that I will have a better idea of how I should do mine.

Signature 

I Am Not An Expert Because I Never Stop Being A Student And Continue To Learn.

Posted: 05 November 2012 06:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  947
Joined  2007-01-04

Two ways to see the bones, one is with the Joint Editor, the other is in the Parameters tab (see pic).

Couple of pointers, when it comes to the rig you can use either Genesis or one of the autofit Projection Templates, and using Transfer Utility you can copy the rig and WM directly into your mesh, then all you need to do is a little tidy up of the WM, yep it really is that easy to rig items for Genesis.
Always model around the default Genesis shape, and use an ungrouped welded mesh (AKA single skin mesh). When it comes to morphs don’t rely on the auto generated ones DS puts in your clothing, they are fine for skin tight outfits, but totally useless as is for anything else, however they can be used as a base to help you make your own.

Image Attachments
Bones2.jpg
 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Posted: 05 November 2012 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
RankRank
Joined  2006-05-18

Thank you, all that was very helpful.  I will study the bones of other clothes to get idea’s of how best to apply bones to my clothes.  I really like the clothes made by AerySoul/AlfaSeed and thought they would be a good study as well as other artists whose clothes I like.

Signature