Digital Art Zone

 
     
Restrict lighting to
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:01 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2010-02-07

Hi there,

Does anyone know if it’s possible to do light linking in Daz studio 4.5? I Googled it and could only find something called “Restrict lighting to” but that was in version 3 I believe. I could not find that option in 4.5 nor any mention of it in the document center.

My issue is, I’ve set up a nice lighting effect that gives the costume a textured look by manipulating the lighting options but I don’t want it on the figure.

This is my second attempt at rendering something in DAZ. I’ve fooled around with it but I have never really produced anything. I would like to finish this off then start working on the background.

Image Attachments
Beast_3.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 11:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8309
Joined  2009-05-14

I have used DS2, 3A,4 and 4.5 and I have never seen a function for stopping light on different objects. Bryce for example can.

But I am open to be corrected.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 11:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2011-11-11

Your best bet for something like that would be to do 2 separate renders with the lighting set for each piece individually and then blend the 2 in an image editor afterwards.

My personal advice is to beware of blending 2 different lights/shadows in 1 render, you really want to make sure that you don’t end up with unrealistic looking shadows. I’m guessing in this case though what you’re trying to do is just tone down the shadows on the model himself and that’s probably going to be fairly doable without things looking too “off”.

 Signature 

Andrew Dacey
Photographer
Geek

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 12:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  48
Joined  2010-02-07

Thanks for the response Szark.

adacey,

I am not trying to tone down the shadows. I just want the shading rate to be different on the costume than on the skin. Right now, I have it set to 1 but for the skin, I want it set to .010…which will give me a very clean render without the little specks/black dots.

I found a tutorial (From Renders to Layers) in the Documentation Center…I think this will solve my issues.

Thank you both for responding.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 04:13 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2011-11-11
Marmalade Boy - 04 November 2012 12:35 PM

Thanks for the response Szark.

adacey,

I am not trying to tone down the shadows. I just want the shading rate to be different on the costume than on the skin. Right now, I have it set to 1 but for the skin, I want it set to .010…which will give me a very clean render without the little specks/black dots.

I found a tutorial (From Renders to Layers) in the Documentation Center…I think this will solve my issues.

Thank you both for responding.

Ah, gotcha. So it’s more of an issue of trying to save yourself from the render time hit than anything.

 Signature 

Andrew Dacey
Photographer
Geek

Profile