Digital Art Zone

 
     
Auto Fit Question
Posted: 03 November 2012 05:21 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  688
Joined  2006-05-18

I was wondering about the Auto Fit and how it works.  I know if you load Genesis and try to apply clothes from V4 or some other Gen4 model that the auto fit will make adjustments to fit the clothes to Genesis.  What I don’t know is if it will do the same thing with clothes from the Gen3 or Gen2 series to fit to Genesis?  I do seem to recall the morphs will not transfer, yet the bones of the clothes will, not sure about what is called movements which boils down to poses for the clothes to save you time when doing a scene.

 Signature 

I Am Not An Expert Because I Never Stop Being A Student And Continue To Learn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 08:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04

Morphs are kept with DS4.5, but tbh many aren’t worth keeping, the mesh has changed shape which means the morphs don’t work the same or even look the same.

Autofit uses a selection of Clone morphs to determine how to reshape the mesh, these Clones are Genesis morphed into an almost identical shape of the figure the Clone is named after, it uses the difference between the base shape and morphed shape to calculate how to reshape the clothing.

It then deletes the rig and mesh grouping from the clothing, as they are no longer required, at the same time it welds the mesh to make sure there are no duplicate vertices. Then it loads the Projection Template you selected and transfers the rig and WM data from it to the clothing item.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 09:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  688
Joined  2006-05-18

Thank you for the explanation, so the only thing I am not sure of yet is whether or not it will auto fit the clothing of any version of any model to Genesis.  I ask because I have a lot of V3 clothes I would still like to use without a load of tweaking.

 Signature 

I Am Not An Expert Because I Never Stop Being A Student And Continue To Learn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 09:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  688
Joined  2006-05-18

I just got a new problem.  The My Library is not where it’s suppose to be, so now I can’t install anything.  I have only installed the program and the My Library that is suppose to be in Documents is not there, instead it’s somewhere else.  I checked both the programs(86) and the documents sections of the computer and there is no proper runtime to install to…what happened?  Did they change where things are suppose to go?

Edit…Solved the installation problem,  had to move the folder to the correct place and now everything installs to properly.  Have no idea why Daz didn’t install the library folder to the correct place.

 Signature 

I Am Not An Expert Because I Never Stop Being A Student And Continue To Learn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 02:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3236
Joined  2007-06-22

Autofit will convert Gen 3 clothing to Genesis if you have the clones for the figure the clothing was originally made for. Morphs transfer in DS4.5
The clones come with the shapes.
Here’s a link to the bundle
http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 02:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1860
Joined  2006-02-17
Bejaymac - 03 November 2012 08:15 PM

Morphs are kept with DS4.5, but tbh many aren’t worth keeping, the mesh has changed shape which means the morphs don’t work the same or even look the same.

Autofit uses a selection of Clone morphs to determine how to reshape the mesh, these Clones are Genesis morphed into an almost identical shape of the figure the Clone is named after, it uses the difference between the base shape and morphed shape to calculate how to reshape the clothing.

It then deletes the rig and mesh grouping from the clothing, as they are no longer required, at the same time it welds the mesh to make sure there are no duplicate vertices. Then it loads the Projection Template you selected and transfers the rig and WM data from it to the clothing item.

I disagree greatly.  The morphs work just fine.

Kendall

 Signature 

Any opinions expressed in this post are those of Kendall Sears and may, or may not, be more, or less, valid than any other opinion.

The contents of this post are intended for the DAZ forum only, do not re-post any portion to any other forum without his permission.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 06:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04
CalieVee - 03 November 2012 09:20 PM

Thank you for the explanation, so the only thing I am not sure of yet is whether or not it will auto fit the clothing of any version of any model to Genesis.  I ask because I have a lot of V3 clothes I would still like to use without a load of tweaking.

You need to have a Clone of that figure before Autofit will convert it’s clothing, Genesis comes with the Gen 4 clones, you can get Clones for the Gen 3 adults from the Iconic shapes pack and one for David 3 from his morph pack, to date no other figures have clones, so it’s only the Gen 3 adults and the Gen 4’s that work with it.

Kendall Sears - 04 November 2012 02:26 AM

I disagree greatly.  The morphs work just fine.

Blue is the original Poser figure with the G4 morph dialed up, Green is the autofitted version with the same G4 morph dialed up, yep that works, NOT!

The deltas don’t change when you autofit something, they still move the vertices the same distance, the problem is the starting point is different so the morph never looks like it did with the original mesh. Adjustment morphs might still have some value, but most of the main shapes are a waste of space, to make matters worse (or better considering how far off they are) they don’t even “auto follow” so your still using the auto generated morphs.

Image Attachments
Render_1.jpg
 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:17 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  3236
Joined  2007-06-22

Sadie has a clone it comes with Sadie for Genesis.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 12:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  280
Joined  2009-08-18

@CalieVee
I bought this DAZ product “V3 and M3 Shapes for Genesis. http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis

It loads into the Shaping tab-make sure you select Genesis first then go to shaping tab, find either Male or Female sliders which will also have sliders for M3 and V3. I have had very few problems with the autofit.

It works this way: after you select from Content Library (forget about “Smart Content” at this point, since most V3/M3 doesn’t have the Metadata so it won’t show up in that pane. To get the clothes item to show up you need to know the correct file name, or else just type “dress” or “shirt” and scroll through. I use “boots” for shoes, and “dress-tight” for necklace, and “pants-tight” for belts. Just figure which part of the body is meant by the list and choose the nearest one.

You can also just import the clothes after selecting Genesis. Which ever way you choose, usually a small window pops up and asks what is the legacy form the clothing item was originally made for. Select V3 for example. Then further down the window is a brief selection of clothes types, example dress, and then a smaller side window “loose” or “tight”. Chose and click apply. You will see a little time for the program to fit the item. Most of the time it fits well. But most users notice that shoes will often not work. There is no shoes, only boots and only thigh high to choose. I just fidget and hide the toes which works often enough.

Now, sometimes the little autofit window doesnt come up. BTW it doesnt say it’s autofit. So you have to select the clothing item from Scene tab and then go to Parameters tab and choose “MISC”. You usually will see the button that says “Fit To” and of course, choose Genesis, and follow the same steps as I gave above. Hair sometimes fits better when you unparent it. Then parent again to Genesis before posing.

Now, here’s the really cool thing that Genesis does…after you load the clothes and fit them, you can go to the shaping tab and move the slider down for male M3 and move up for V3, presto—twice the clothing for male, female and yes, kids!

I am just learning the DAZ 4.0, but I am fairly sure it will work the same way in 4.5. edited to say I don’t know about character morphs, I think that requires a different plugin software, maybe called Gen X?

I hope this helps.

 Signature 

See my gallery http://www.daz3d.com/gallery/users/?q=IceScribe&x=14&y=10

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 04:12 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  688
Joined  2006-05-18

Thank you everyone,  I have the information I need now.  From what everyone is saying, I have to buy the iconic packs for the models of the clothes I already have to get them to fit Genesis.  I was just hoping there was a way to do so without buying those extra packs.
.

 Signature 

I Am Not An Expert Because I Never Stop Being A Student And Continue To Learn.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 November 2012 08:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
CalieVee - 05 November 2012 04:12 PM

Thank you everyone,  I have the information I need now.  From what everyone is saying, I have to buy the iconic packs for the models of the clothes I already have to get them to fit Genesis.  I was just hoping there was a way to do so without buying those extra packs.
.

Basically, if it’s not the base Gen4, then yep…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 08 November 2012 05:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8661
Joined  2007-11-06
Bejaymac - 04 November 2012 06:49 AM
Kendall Sears - 04 November 2012 02:26 AM

I disagree greatly.  The morphs work just fine.

Blue is the original Poser figure with the G4 morph dialed up, Green is the autofitted version with the same G4 morph dialed up, yep that works, NOT!

The deltas don’t change when you autofit something, they still move the vertices the same distance, the problem is the starting point is different so the morph never looks like it did with the original mesh. Adjustment morphs might still have some value, but most of the main shapes are a waste of space, to make matters worse (or better considering how far off they are) they don’t even “auto follow” so your still using the auto generated morphs.

Oh, of course, character morphs won’t be much use, but those get autogenerated for Genesis.  The problem was the loss of movement and adjustment morphs, which are now retained.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 13 May 2014 11:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  190
Joined  2012-07-20
IceScribe - 05 November 2012 12:42 AM

@CalieVee
I bought this DAZ product “V3 and M3 Shapes for Genesis. http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis

It loads into the Shaping tab-make sure you select Genesis first then go to shaping tab, find either Male or Female sliders which will also have sliders for M3 and V3. I have had very few problems with the autofit.

It works this way: after you select from Content Library (forget about “Smart Content” at this point, since most V3/M3 doesn’t have the Metadata so it won’t show up in that pane. To get the clothes item to show up you need to know the correct file name, or else just type “dress” or “shirt” and scroll through. I use “boots” for shoes, and “dress-tight” for necklace, and “pants-tight” for belts. Just figure which part of the body is meant by the list and choose the nearest one.

You can also just import the clothes after selecting Genesis. Which ever way you choose, usually a small window pops up and asks what is the legacy form the clothing item was originally made for. Select V3 for example. Then further down the window is a brief selection of clothes types, example dress, and then a smaller side window “loose” or “tight”. Chose and click apply. You will see a little time for the program to fit the item. Most of the time it fits well. But most users notice that shoes will often not work. There is no shoes, only boots and only thigh high to choose. I just fidget and hide the toes which works often enough.

Now, sometimes the little autofit window doesnt come up. BTW it doesnt say it’s autofit. So you have to select the clothing item from Scene tab and then go to Parameters tab and choose “MISC”. You usually will see the button that says “Fit To” and of course, choose Genesis, and follow the same steps as I gave above. Hair sometimes fits better when you unparent it. Then parent again to Genesis before posing.

Now, here’s the really cool thing that Genesis does…after you load the clothes and fit them, you can go to the shaping tab and move the slider down for male M3 and move up for V3, presto—twice the clothing for male, female and yes, kids!

I am just learning the DAZ 4.0, but I am fairly sure it will work the same way in 4.5. edited to say I don’t know about character morphs, I think that requires a different plugin software, maybe called Gen X?

I hope this helps.

I’m a bit confused by this. I have the shape package referred to, properly installed, but V3 does not show up in my Auto-fit list when trying to fit V3 clothes to Genesis. Am I supposed to be looking for V3 somewhere else?

Profile