Digital Art Zone

 
     
Prop modeling
Posted: 01 November 2012 11:08 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  638
Joined  2011-01-13

I made a prop in Wings and exported to DS3A (yeah, I know talk about old). I had to adjust the scale because it loads huge, but when I export and re-import, it’s huge again. It’s no different in Carrara 8 Pro.

Is there a way to save my scale settings to the .obj?

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 01:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2224
Joined  2005-09-05
LightofHeaven - 01 November 2012 11:08 PM

I made a prop in Wings and exported to DS3A (yeah, I know talk about old). I had to adjust the scale because it loads huge, but when I export and re-import, it’s huge again. It’s no different in Carrara 8 Pro.

Is there a way to save my scale settings to the .obj?

What setting are you importing it in at to DS3A? I would play with the different settings. The Poser scale is quite small but if you use DS scale it comes in larger…you can even set your own custom scale if you wish.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 01:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Once you SCALE the object file in DS you should EXPORT the Object from DS with the Default DS Setting in the options and Size set to 100%. Do not Over write your original file you might need other settings depending on UV maps and Morphs to get it to load 100%.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 01:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4890
Joined  2009-02-26

If you ‘import’ the OBJ at a scale, DS will always recognize it as the scale you imported it. Saving to PP2 file seals the deal with props and is well worth doing.

EG. I import a sword OBJ to DS at 90%, DS will now recognize it at the 90% scale. (90% Scale will be the default at 100% according to daz, it IS 90% scale of the OBJ)

 Signature 

- SpyroRue’s Deviant Art -

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 01:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2224
Joined  2005-09-05

Just wanted to mention in case you missed it…when you import at the bottom of the dialogue box(if closed) is a show options button.

Clicking this will allow you to play with the scale settings.

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 02:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  638
Joined  2011-01-13

I had a NOOB momednt when I hit that and discovered I was importing on the BRYCE setting. Oops! But anything I import from Wings seems to be big, but i sort of have it figured out.

 Signature 

An expert is just an experienced novice.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 02:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2224
Joined  2005-09-05
LightofHeaven - 02 November 2012 02:16 AM

I had a NOOB momednt when I hit that and discovered I was importing on the BRYCE setting. Oops! But anything I import from Wings seems to be big, but i sort of have it figured out.

Try the poser scale as that is quite small…glad if I helped!

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 06:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13921
Joined  2003-10-09

Try the Blender or modo presets - a quick Google suggests that Wings uses the metre as its basic unit, so if you model to actual size that should work.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile