Digital Art Zone

4 of 11
Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG
Posted: 21 November 2012 03:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 46 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  127
Joined  2011-11-11
2Fatbear - 21 November 2012 11:37 AM

Its interesting that this approach of yours with smart objects is similar to what I do with Reality/Lux, to work lights intensity and color while rendering when I can see all shadows properly. Lux also has a list of kinds of old films aspects we can apply to the image, similar to what you are doing with photo filter (but I’m guessing photo filter will have more resources than this).

I started playing with Uber-Things thinking in cutting the huge time Lux takes to render a big image. But then I noticed that when we use UE2 on its full power the time will be also huge (still to do a proper comparation), so maybe your idea will help lower render time since youre rendering only a light for each layer (or are you? Or there are the eight distant lights on each layer?)

Anyway, I know now we just cant do great renders in one minute (or sixty! (: ), which makes even more valuable the topic of this thread, we have to work very well all details before going to the final render.

Yeah, I love Reality but I’ve been pushing myself to learn more native DAZ lighting and surfaces. Right now, I feel like I have a better handle on lighting in Reality (using my photo background) but a better handle on surfaces in DAZ so it’s a bit of a toss up on which way I want to go. I’ve heard of some tricks for speeding up renders in Reality but I’ve yet to try them out yet so I can’t really comment on whether that will help things out.