Digital Art Zone

 
     
Tutorials specific to DS 4.5
Posted: 01 November 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1337
Joined  0

Alot of the tutorials are for older versions of DS .  Are the versions for DS 4 the same concepts as for 4.5?  I need some detailed help and am not finding it unless someone with lots of experience has time to mentor???

Kharma

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 12:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7776
Joined  2009-05-14

have you looked on DAZ3D’s youtube channel http://www.youtube.com/user/WWWDAZ3DCOM ?

What exactly are you having issues with?

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 01:28 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1337
Joined  0

Basically everything…I haven’t used DS since version 3 and didn’t use that much.  Now it’s like starting over completely, the program has changed alot.  All the tutorials I have read through seem to assume you know alot already.  I need a step by step.  I installed the program and the genesis essentials but products that show in content library aren’t in smart stuff…products that the tutorial say are there aren’t there anymore (ie genesis morphs don’t include expressions anymore)  I installed V5 also so far.  It just seems complicated going through folders in different places and only finding products in one and not the other, and not finding things where I think they should go.  DS 4.5 doesn’t seem to have a manual and like I said the tutorials just seem to skim through the steps. Also the read me files aren’t available for all products anymore?

I will just keep searching around and install one thing at a time and trying to find all the parts before I install the next product.

Trial and error *Ho Hum*

Kharma

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 01:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7776
Joined  2009-05-14

Most of these issues arise from people not watching where content gets installed to, generally. All Genesis morphs should go in to the same content directory…it doesn’t matter where this folder is located as long as it isn’t in Program Files.

Assuming your content has been installed correctly then lets try this for starters.

Whilst in the Scene Pane follow the numbered images in sequence with restarting Daz Studio after step 3 and then do step 4. See how that goes. If it doesn’t work then we need to look deeper.

Image Attachments
ResetDatabase.jpgResetDatabase1.jpgResetDatabase2.jpgResetDatabase3.jpg
 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 02:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1337
Joined  0

When I installed my content i went through custom install to see the path of installation and it is in my documents/my library/...sorry I don’t have my computer as I am at work…the program itself is in Program files I believe…whatever the default install is.  What about files that have no meta data?  they won’t show up in smart content…only in the content library?

Kharma

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 02:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22
Kharma - 01 November 2012 02:23 PM

When I installed my content i went through custom install to see the path of installation and it is in my documents/my library/...sorry I don’t have my computer as I am at work…the program itself is in Program files I believe…whatever the default install is.  What about files that have no meta data?  they won’t show up in smart content…only in the content library?

Kharma

Correct. Without MetaData they are not Smart. Content Library is the only option for that content, or make your own Metadata which is not easy at all.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 08:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1337
Joined  0

So everything I have installed so far I installed to the /mylibrary foldr…is that the best way?

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 10:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7776
Joined  2009-05-14
Kharma - 03 November 2012 08:50 AM

So everything I have installed so far I installed to the /mylibrary foldr…is that the best way?

Hiope this helps with the above question http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/10916/

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile