Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
All imported V4 and V3 clothes have broken skirt seams
Posted: 01 November 2012 11:08 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2004-01-11

Hi,

I’m using the studio autoconverter for V4 and V3 clothes when loading them on to a genesis figure. The clothing item always fits perfectly as far as the hip. But further down from this, particularly with skirts or dresses, the seam between left and right thighs is always broken, and nothing I do will fix it.

Any suggestions?

This happens with both V4 and V3 MFDs as well. There is no “skirt” in the heirachy list as there is in poser so the only way to manipulate it is via the morphs which is unsatisfactory. In Poser you could bend, twist and translate the skirt to any position. Since the MFD products are made by DAZ I would have expected them to work ok in DStudio.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  949
Joined  2007-01-04

Skirts have always been a problem, even going back to my early days in Poser 4, with Poser’s rigging you just can’t have leg groups in a skirt as you couldn’t weld them together, so skirts would split from hem to crotch, so they make all skirts part of the hip group and supply ghost bones and/or morphs to get around the posing.

With WM rigging you don’t have the welding problem as you don’t have groups in the mesh, and with properly painted weight maps things like skirts can work really well without ghost bones (still trying to learn this part myself), however with autofit you are relying on the very basic WM that’s in the projection templates, which will allow a knee length skirt to work so-so but with the odd crumple zone between the two thighs. Longer skirts do have a problem, as the template is only knee length, so any WM rigging below the knee is coming from the Genesis rig, which pretty much leaves you having to learn WM rigging to get things to work right.

Dynamics would solve this issue, but you’d need to use Poser for than seeing as we don’t have anything other than that useless Optitex system.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 01:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8348
Joined  2009-05-14

I thought MFD was updated for Genesis?

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 01:23 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8348
Joined  2009-05-14

Sorry it was the Unimesh MFD that was updated http://www.daz3d.com/shop/morphing-fantasy-dress-unimesh-fits

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 01:32 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2004-01-11

Thanks for that reply. Well, that is disappointing. I only get occasional seam/weld problems in Poser and they can generally be overcome but in Studio there is a horrible black line from the knee down to the bottom of the skirt. So that means that 70% of my addon clothes just don’t work at all. I’m not technically minded but I find it extraordinary that a way around this has not been found by DAZ.  The skirt by its nature can always be adjusted by transitions and rotations, so why is there a problem?

The more I get into Studio the more I feel the whole thing is becoming a constant battle of troubleshooting. At least in Poser 7 I get work done. Thanks again for the response which is appreciated.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 01:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2003-10-09

The MFD was updated for Genesis and all the parts and morphs are present.
If you are trying to autofit the V4 version of the dress, you will loose a lot of the functionality, especially if you are using older DS 4 instead of DS 4.5

I noticed you are using a very old version of Poser also, you might consider upgrading that to improve your work flow.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2004-01-11

Hi Medzin,

Poser 7 “very old”? Goodness! Is Windows Vista “terribly old” too, because that’s about the same age and it runs more or less as well as Windows 7?

I didn’t realise MFD was updated for genesis. I knew it was a new product at a new product price. I have MFD for V3 and V4. Am I now required to purchase it full price yet again for Genesis? That’s quite a lot of MFDs.

I must be getting terribly old too, but generally function as well as I did a few years ago wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  291
Joined  2003-10-09
leonardis - 01 November 2012 07:00 PM

Hi Medzin,

Poser 7 “very old”? Goodness! Is Windows Vista “terribly old” too, because that’s about the same age and it runs more or less as well as Windows 7?

Why am I not surprised that you run Vista?

As it turns out, the public release of Vista was one month after release of Poser 7 (12/06).

You can run what ever software you choose.  I have no vested interest in any app or OS.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 08:35 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  295
Joined  2003-10-09

I’ve said this several places, but it really does not work well putting leg bones into skirts. Many items end up in a mess and some tear.

The best solutions are front, back, left and right bones. Even better it they are repeated lower down to get good movement. Quite why DS sticks in leg bones which has long been known not to work for skirts is a mystery. Maybe it was a cheap and cheerful all purpose solution. I live in hopes that one day it will be improved.

 Signature 

Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 09:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2005-01-19

For dress rig: Genesis Basic Clothing Rig Kit   http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-basic-clothing-rig-kit.

Maintaining morph in clothes: Loading clothing to Genesis without losing the morphs http://forumarchive.daz3d.com/viewtopic.php?p=3277033#3277033

I don’t know if this two things can be mixed to obtain a rigged skirt with original morphs. I think, maybe.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 10:20 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  33
Joined  2004-01-11
Medzin - 01 November 2012 07:19 PM

Why am I not surprised that you run Vista?
As it turns out, the public release of Vista was one month after release of Poser 7 (12/06).
You can run what ever software you choose.  I have no vested interest in any app or OS.

I didn’t say I run Vista. I have win7 with a very fast system. I meant that Vista is not that old, and nor is Poser 7. I’m considering updating Poser to 9 but from the reviews it doesn’t seem particularly radical unless you buy the pro version running 64 bit, but that is a lot to pay for slightly faster rendering. As one review said, Restricting 64 bit (more RAM access)  to Poser Pro only is a bit like declaring tomato ketchup a luxury food.

$249 for weight mapping and 64 bit is a very expensive upgrade..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 01:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2320
Joined  2005-09-05
leonardis - 01 November 2012 11:08 AM

Hi,

I’m using the studio autoconverter for V4 and V3 clothes when loading them on to a genesis figure. The clothing item always fits perfectly as far as the hip. But further down from this, particularly with skirts or dresses, the seam between left and right thighs is always broken, and nothing I do will fix it.

Any suggestions?

This happens with both V4 and V3 MFDs as well. There is no “skirt” in the heirachy list as there is in poser so the only way to manipulate it is via the morphs which is unsatisfactory. In Poser you could bend, twist and translate the skirt to any position. Since the MFD products are made by DAZ I would have expected them to work ok in DStudio.

Could you post an image so I can see what is happening?

I have converted a number of things using autofit my main gripe is that there is mesh distortion down the front and back(which I normally fix in Hexagon. If you have Hex it’s fairly easy to fix I’m happy to help walk you through the process as best I can…

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 06:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  949
Joined  2007-01-04

Pen the attached image shows what happens when you autofit V4’s MFD, the hem is all curled up and crumpled, this happens because V4’s feet point down, and autofit tries to bend them up to match Genesis, it’s field of influence is catching the hem.

@ Baglet, While you can use ghost bones with WM they really shouldn’t be needed, with a single skin mesh you don’t have to worry about it splitting from hem to crotch like it does in Poser, you just need to get the WM correct for it to work, and as you can see from the second part of my pic, the WM from autofit is pretty crap, it should be a smooth transition from one leg to the other and not stop dead like it does in the pic.

@ gilikshe, DS4.5 keeps the morphs when you use autofit or the Transfer Utility, so that link is out of date, and only of use to anyone foolish enough to still be using that buggy alpha called DS4.0.

Image Attachments
AutofitWm.jpg
 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 06:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  766
Joined  2012-07-21
Pendraia - 02 November 2012 01:27 AM

I have converted a number of things using autofit my main gripe is that there is mesh distortion down the front and back(which I normally fix in Hexagon. If you have Hex it’s fairly easy to fix I’m happy to help walk you through the process as best I can…

I would be so grateful if you showed us how to do that.

 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
my store at DAZ3D

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 06:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  295
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks Bejaymac. I’m still getting my head around weight-mapping but your picture explains the problem. It does look like they have only set it up for pants.

As I use many long skirts that is annoying but gives me a bit of confidence that I can make some in MD that work and no need to fuss with bones. Once I’ve mastered weight-mapping anyway.

 

 Signature 

Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 10:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  592
Joined  2005-01-19
Bejaymac - 02 November 2012 06:01 AM

@ gilikshe, DS4.5 keeps the morphs when you use autofit or the Transfer Utility, so that link is out of date, and only of use to anyone foolish enough to still be using that buggy alpha called DS4.0.

Thanks Bejaymac. Very funny thing, I have DS4.5 installed, but my head still is in 4.0 in some things.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1