Digital Art Zone

 
     
Where to ask to get a “scene file”
Posted: 01 November 2012 05:47 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2008-01-25

Hello,

I brought content of a japanese town, (Edo Vol 3) but things won’t load “in place,” and being strictly no good at positioning things inside the buildings (I absolutely don’t get what is supposed to go where) I’d like to know if someone could tell me how to contact the vendor or where to find people to pay for putting the buildings / props in place.


Thank you very much,

Ukyuu.

 Signature 

“Never lose your life, it’s precious.”
“Not like I can drop it somewhere when off-minded.”

deviantart : http://ukyuu.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 06:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6663
Joined  2005-08-15

Where did you buy it from, and who made it, and what format is it in?

What software are you trying to load it into, DAZ Studio?  If so, which version?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2008-01-25

Oh, I am sincerely sorry for not being precise enough.

So I brought it from DAZ shop here :http://www.daz3d.com/shop/old-japanese-town-edo-vol3
The vendor is : Sugatak, so I suppose he is the one who made it.

I’m with DAZ 4.5.

 Signature 

“Never lose your life, it’s precious.”
“Not like I can drop it somewhere when off-minded.”

deviantart : http://ukyuu.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 06:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

There is a link to the vendor’s site in the readme, at the end of the notes section. I can’t recall if he’s made a PZ3 to load the whole scene - I think so.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 06:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2008-01-25

Isn’t the readme only visible once when the setup finish ?

 Signature 

“Never lose your life, it’s precious.”
“Not like I can drop it somewhere when off-minded.”

deviantart : http://ukyuu.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7991
Joined  2009-05-14
Ukyuu - 01 November 2012 06:49 AM

Isn’t the readme only visible once when the setup finish ?

Yes indeed. That is why I like Zip files as you can dig out the readme before installing.

Can I ask why you find positioning props hard? I find it one of the most easiest things to do in Daz Studio. I find uising the Orthorgraphic cameras (Top, front etc) to be of value when placing props.

As Richard said though I would be surprised if there is not a preset for loading all the itmes in place, a Scene preset for a lack of a better name.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2008-01-25

Okay, found it and even found the “.pp2” where it’s fully loaded among the files on my computer.

I don’t know why it doesn’t show in the DAZ Studio… plus I have mass random crash so I’m advancing slowly at understanding the software.

@Szark

Well, I am very new to positioning things around and so on, but generally I’d say it’s quite easy indeed.

However in this particular product, the difficulty comes from my lack of reference as to where each things is supposed to be. I mean, the picture provided didn’t showed everything in place so I was totally lost as to how reconstruct the village.

There is no pz3 (thank you richard for telling me this is positions files) nor was there anything in the DAZ content library that was telling me where to place the object. And therefore it was a mess. Added to that the fact that DAZ has random crash (I updated a known bug issue non-resolved with the files of DAZ since I have lots crashes) learning the software is a bit slower than it should be.

Positioning on itself is simple and intuitive. I think that the problem here isn’t with the software but with the product with basically doesn’t have a “scene preset” included when it has rather complexes complete sets of buildings with props inside. Then again, it’s not a “problem” more an issue for total beginners.I believe this kind of problems will happen less and less often as I learn the ways of manipulating it.

 Signature 

“Never lose your life, it’s precious.”
“Not like I can drop it somewhere when off-minded.”

deviantart : http://ukyuu.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:25 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

I don’t have volume 3, but I got volumes 1 & 2 in another marketplace.  They both have PZ3 scene files included.  You might try using your computers search function, it might have been place somewhere not obvious

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2008-01-25

I really wanted to buy these two volumes. But they are nowhere to be found now :/ I can only find them for poser which isn’t of much help.

I need a large scene of a pretty big japanese town, but I can’t seem to make one, so for now I brought one of the two castle, and this volume, hopefully, someday, he’ll put the rest back, or I’ll find other japanese resources.

 Signature 

“Never lose your life, it’s precious.”
“Not like I can drop it somewhere when off-minded.”

deviantart : http://ukyuu.deviantart.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 09:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1782
Joined  2010-10-10

They are available at Renderosity. Can’t they be used in Daz?

http://www.renderosity.com/mod/bcs/old-japanese-town-edo-vol1/83117

 Signature 

Wendy

My website: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk

Tutorials: http://www.wilmapsdigitalcreations.co.uk/view_products.php?cat=10

PLEASE NOTE:
My items are NOT to be used on Second Life website.  They have recently changed their TOS and are legally able to take/steal anything uploaded and resell/redistribute to items.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 10:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  294
Joined  2003-10-09

Just did a quick check in DS 4.5
It works fine.

Image Attachments
edov1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 11:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  42
Joined  2008-01-25

Oh, thank you so very much !

 Signature 

“Never lose your life, it’s precious.”
“Not like I can drop it somewhere when off-minded.”

deviantart : http://ukyuu.deviantart.com

Profile