Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Problems with Smart Conent & CMS
Posted: 01 November 2012 02:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2012-06-28
Jaderail - 01 November 2012 02:18 PM

I have noticed that some people hit trouble just after a Win7 Update or a AV Update. Always check what updates have done to your System. Sometimes Updates over ride old settings and require them to be set again.

I don’t think there have been any AV updates, but I will check them both. Thanks for the suggestion.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 05:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07
markcarraway - 01 November 2012 09:22 AM
SimonJM - 01 November 2012 07:46 AM

A simple restart of the service suffices to get it running again, but to have DS talk to it again I need to shut and restart DS.

This was my symptoms late last week. After a while, that trick no longer worked and nothing I have done so far has made any difference.

I saw an obscure post somewhere where someone noticed issues with this related to the size of his content file, but I am just not sure about that, and I haven’t seen any other posts. I do have a lot of content, but I am certain that plenty of people have much more than I do.


My sizes are as follows:

ContentDB.DAT: 15M
ContentDB.IND: 35M

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 07:30 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2495
Joined  2007-12-07

A bit more information ... things look to have settled down somewhat.  I think it was just the scene I was working on at the time that was causing the problem.  DS seemed to run horribly slowly, despite the scene not being that complex (just Genesis, a few clothing items, hair and a sword) and it was (if memory serves) during those horribly slow moments that the CMS seems to have died.  The complexity of the scene was probably mainly due to multiple LIE usage (Gore and Grime, plus Wounds).  In the midst of the original setup of the scene I was getting failures to find some of the image/map files.
I have since gone back and redone things and DS/CMS looks to be behaving.

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 01 November 2012 09:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1159
Joined  2005-07-29

Yeah, this is happening to me now to. I tried to reimport the metadata but to no avail.

Crap… this sucks.

I can still open my content via the library but no Smart Content at all

Running DAZ Studio 4.5.1.6 Pro 64-bit on Windows 7

 Signature 

<End of transmission from Oz>
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis/G2F/G2M Full Body Morph for DAZ Studio Pro 4.6 by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Creating a Genesis Partial Body Morph in DAZ Studio Pro 4 Using the DForm Tool by RKane_1
TUTORIAL - Applying Shaders by RKane_1 (as stolen blatantly from Jaderail)

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 09:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2495
Joined  2007-12-07

Spoke too soon - now happens pretty much consistently ... exit DS, restart CMS, start DS, CMS has died by the time DS is active.  Good news is that theer are debug details in system logs, and that fault offest (I presume progam execution addess is consistant).  I’ll chuck a bug report at Mantic (or update any existing one I find).

Created Mantis report

 Signature 

Some writings by a friend:
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/11.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/13.html
http://www.lizardsofthehost.co.uk/7.html

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 09:10 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8119
Joined  2009-05-14

Has anyone tried this http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/8028/#105548

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 10:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  9
Joined  2012-06-28
Szark - 02 November 2012 09:10 AM

Has anyone tried this http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/8028/#105548

I was successfully able to restore the CMS and SC last night after following basically the same steps outlined in that thread. I did not start by making a back up of the existing database because I was fairly certain that it was completely shot at this point. I also did not bother to export user data since I had (thankfully) not done a lot of work on my own in the database.  I will add that step in my explanation however just in case someone else finds their way to this thread. It is definitely a case of database corruption causing this particular issue.

First of all I want to repeat my suspicions that the “reset database” function in the 64 bit version of DS4.5 is buggy and could be the likely cause of the cataclysmic failure of the database. I don’t want to break mine again by testing that theory but as i backtracked my steps trying to sort this out, it seems my inability to restore my smart content by restarting DS and the CMS and reimporting metadata started after attempting to reset the database which is a common solution for that issue often touted in this forum. I would be hesitant to recommend that anyone using DS4.5 Pro 64bit use that function at all until someone looks at it to be certain.

So for posterity here are the exact steps I followed to restore the CMS and Smart Content. Please note that this is relevant only to 64bit systems:

1: If you have done any customization to your database (added categories, user metadata etc) be sure to export user data (as covered in this topic http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/8028/#105548 )if you fail to do this, any work you have done WILL be lost!

2: Close DS and manually stop the Content Management Service using the executable in the DAZ Content Management Service folder windows start menu.

3: Use the uninstaller found in that same folder to uninstall DAZ Content Management System. You will receive a warning saying that uninstalling the software will have a serious impact on DS4 and that it is strongly recommended that you do not remove it. Ignore that message and uninstall.

4: Run the uninstaller for DS4.5

5: (The next step may be overkill, but I included it in my original process so I am including it here - skip it at your own risk) Run CCleaner and use the registry cleaning tool to remove any pesky remainders in the registry. I had to run 4 scans to completely remove all of the DS related orphans. (make backups when prompted for your registry - ALWAYS a smart choice) Restart your computer when it is clean.

6: Navigate to C:\ProgramData\DAZ 3D\Content Management Service\ (you can just paste the path into your windows file browser bar since the entire ProgramData directory is hidden by default and a real booger to find.) and DELETE the entire folder called “databases” make sure it is 100% gone.

7: Reinstall DAZ Studio (always best to use default settings)

8: Once DAZ loads, you MAY be prompted to import metadata if so just approve the update. If not then check to see that you have the two arrows shown in the attachment showing in your content tree. If you DO see them you are in business….. if not turn off your computer and go straight to bed.

9: If you do have those two arrows, your CMS is functioning and you can manually import metadata at this point. Once the import is complete your Smart Content should automatically appear.

This may or may not solve the issue with the Content continually disappearing. That may be an unrelated issue that shows up again for me later. At this point I have had no more issues, but I have also not installed any new content.

Thank you all for your help and thanks especially to KinnieM who pointed me in the right direction for getting this solved!

Image Attachments
11-2-2012_11-38-10_AM.png
Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2