Blender and Poser Cloth Simulations -----------> Daz Studio, has arrived

mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
edited June 2012 in Freebies

manual and zip download right here
https://sites.google.com/site/mcasualsdazscripts2/mcjobjstomorphingprop


what is it that you see in the first image below?


this is a cloth simulation ( on a 1000 polygons sheet ) which was exported from Blender as a sequence of obj files.


then i loaded the first obj in daz studio, lets call this 'the cloth'


i used this brand new free daz script and in maybe 2 minutes,
it converted 150 obj files into 150 morph channels,
which were added to 'the cloth'


then in 1 click, the script animated the 150 morph channels


Results:


The second animation with tartan, is a Poser 7 cloth simulation, imported, subdivided and rendered in Daz Studio


The 3rd one is 3 frames exported (manually ) from Carrara, imported and rendered in Daz Studio.
unfortunately, since the polygon count varies during a particle emission, this script wont be able to import particle effects.


The 4th animation is the big test! a 90-frames cloth simulation from poser! imported and rendered in daz studio 3 /openGl


The 5th image shows the UI as of June 1st 6:45 am - as you can see, i could create a 30-frames/30-morphs animation loop, and have it "play" for seconds and minutes.

wakone.gif
450 x 450 - 454K
theUI.png
399 x 489 - 13K
blibo.gif
600 x 600 - 195K
baboi.gif
400 x 400 - 393K
wai.gif
400 x 400 - 399K
Post edited by mCasual on

Comments

  • PendraiaPendraia Posts: 2,523
    edited December 1969

    This looks really exciting...does it mean that we would have dynamic cloth similar to poser's in DS?

  • bighbigh Posts: 5,504
    edited December 1969

    what would I use this 4 .
    100 obj files would crash my puter .

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited December 1969

    bigh said:
    what would I use this 4 .
    100 obj files would crash my puter .

    100 frames of a complex garment would possibly crash some computers

    the animation from poser shown here uses 125KB obj files, and would not crash computers.

    If you add up all the morphs on a victoria4 figure, that's a lot of morph data and she works on most computers

    also, it's possible to make 30 frames animations that loop, a flag for example.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited December 1969

    Pendraia said:
    This looks really exciting...does it mean that we would have dynamic cloth similar to poser's in DS?

    you need poser or blender or carrara etc...
    any program that can export an animation as a sequence of obj files
    it's this program that performs the cloth animation ( and this can be very tedious ),
    then my script lets you import the obj files in the form of an animated prop

    as long as the garment is not too complex or the animation too lengthy, you can get dynamic clothes in a Daz studio scene

  • PendraiaPendraia Posts: 2,523
    edited December 1969

    Casual said:
    Pendraia said:
    This looks really exciting...does it mean that we would have dynamic cloth similar to poser's in DS?

    you need poser or blender or carrara etc...
    any program that can export an animation as a sequence of obj files
    it's this program that performs the cloth animation ( and this can be very tedious ),
    then my script lets you import the obj files in the form of an animated prop

    as long as the garment is not too complex or the animation too lengthy, you can get dynamic clothes in a Daz studio scene

    So not really a viable alternative to Optitex...but still an interesting addition to the workflow.

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited June 2012

    Pendraia said:

    ... .... ...
    So not really a viable alternative to Optitex...but still an interesting addition to the workflow.

    in my case it will probably be for cyclic/looping animations or simple Poser cloth sims, capes, flags, curtains

    and to get some blender physics effects in daz studio

    come to think of it you could possibly use it to transfer cloth animations from DS into poser

    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited December 1969

    30-frames Poser7 simulation
    imported and rendered in Daz Studio

    as you can see on the forearms, this doesn't make the cloth simulation any easier to perform

    drapin600.gif
    600 x 480 - 273K
  • Eustace ScrubbEustace Scrubb Posts: 1,389
    edited December 1969

    I don't have any of the above programs besides DS 2-4, but it looks interesting. That last one reminds me of one of my first DS scenes, in DS 0.n.x or so in '05, when it was still in Beta. I had to find Aiko3 a suitable reason to stand in zero-pose for PhilC's dynamic cheogsam or kimono thing to work: of course, at that time I had no idea what "dynamic" or "conforming" meant.

  • SkirikiSkiriki Posts: 4,757
    edited December 1969

    Want + need. <3

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited June 2012

    Skiriki said:
    Want + need. <3

    i made the first big test, a 90-frames walk

    the cone-dress is only 1024 faces, i'll probably post it on my site

    cloth-simulation in Poser 7

    imported and rendered in DS3

    i plan to post the script within , say, 4 hours tops

    i want to make sure its DS1, 2, 3, 4 compatible

    wakone.gif
    450 x 450 - 454K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited June 2012

    in the news ........ compatibility with DS4 confirmed

    rumors abound

    or rumours abond

    and now , compatible with DS 1.8

    and now compatible with DS 2.3

    yobz.gif
    600 x 150 - 203K
    waiiii.gif
    450 x 450 - 181K
    indanooz.gif
    600 x 337 - 261K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited December 1969

    Skiriki said:
    Want + need. <3

    tis ready :)

  • SkirikiSkiriki Posts: 4,757
    edited December 1969

    SQUEE!

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited June 2012

    second "big test:"

    a 120 frames poser cloth sim, converted into a morphing prop, rendered in Daz Studio, software render mode

    this time the dress was 2040 polygons, each .obj file was 300K,

    34 megs for the set of 120 objs

    processing each frame seemed to take about 1 or 2 seconds

    residu2.gif
    400 x 225 - 411K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • bighbigh Posts: 5,504
    edited December 1969

    can't use it don't have poser and if I did why wouldn't I render it in poser to start with ?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited June 2012

    bigh said:
    can't use it don't have poser and if I did why wouldn't I render it in poser to start with ?

    in my case i know the possibilities brought by this script are greatly welcome
    poser 7 cost me only $75, apparently older versions are at discount prices 1 or 2 times a year.
    poser's renders are slow compared to Daz Studio
    i'm always uncomfortable when i'm "in" poser , so i can suffer through it to get a cloth sim,
    but i can't stay "in there" for all the steps needed to make my movies.

    and, in daz studio, i can render using Blender-Cycles, or LuxRender

    with the right shaders, daz studio's 3delight renders are also worth it

    other people may also know Blender enough to get some cloth simulations going,
    which they can now bring back in Daz Studio's friendly environment

    Post edited by mCasual on
  • bighbigh Posts: 5,504
    edited December 1969

    Casual said:
    bigh said:
    can't use it don't have poser and if I did why wouldn't I render it in poser to start with ?

    in my case i know the possibilities brought by this script are greatly welcome
    poser 7 cost me only $75, apparently older versions are at discount prices 1 or 2 times a year.
    poser's renders are slow compared to Daz Studio
    i'm always uncomfortable when i'm "in" poser , so i can suffer through it to get a cloth sim,
    but i can't stay "in there" for all the steps needed to make my movies.

    and, in daz studio, i can render using Blender-Cycles, or LuxRender

    with the right shaders, daz studio's 3delight renders are also worth it

    other people may also know Blender enough to get some cloth simulations going,
    which they can now bring back in Daz Studio's friendly environment

    fair enough - you all ways do some thing to ( wow me )

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited December 1969

    a 120 frame poser-cloth-room simulation
    rendered in daz studio 3

    wakabout.gif
    300 x 225 - 500K
  • Ashfire45Ashfire45 Posts: 67
    edited December 1969

    So could this essentially make any conforming/static clothes dynamic? Because that.. is too good to pass up and I'm going to throw my money at you!! Like I just did with Wrinkle3D which was a complete waste. >.>

  • PendraiaPendraia Posts: 2,523
    edited December 1969

    Does this also work in DS4?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited May 23

    Pendraia said:
    Does this also work in DS4?

    most of my scripts for DS3 work for DS4 but i dint think i tested this one .... checking ...

    i'm almost sure it works but i'll do a test right now

    i probably didn't delete the .objs which were produced by poser

    ... be right back ...


    here you see a test i did just now using DS3 ... still works !

    now lets see about DS4 ( it is labeled as DS4 compatible but DS4.0 i think was different from DS4.7 )

    Yes ! it works in DS 4.7, today !

    see animation 2

    Tips :

    1 - use the same scale to import your base .obj as the scale you specify to the script
    ex: Poser units

    2 - before applying the animation, make sure the Timeline's playrange is wide enough to receive the animation,
    i'm not sure but i think the script only applies the morph animations to the playrange

    gniiiii.gif
    562 x 600 - 555K
    bamm.gif
    320 x 320 - 201K
    Post edited by mCasual on
  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited May 23

    Ashfire45 said:
    So could this essentially make any conforming/static clothes dynamic? Because that.. is too good to pass up and I'm going to throw my money at you!! Like I just did with Wrinkle3D which was a complete waste. >.>

    the script doesn't make clothes dynamic

    it imports animations as 1 prop with as many morphs as there are frames in the animation

    so, if you create an animation, in Blender or in Poser of a dress

    and export that animation as a sequence of 100 .obj files

    and then you load the first of those .obj files in Daz Studio

    the script can add 99 morphs, 1 per .obj

    then by animating those 100 morph sliders, you get the Blender/Poser animation in Daz Studio

    Post edited by mCasual on
  • GreymomGreymom Posts: 17
    edited December 1969

    This is amazing! Many thanks!

  • patience55patience55 Posts: 6,194
    edited December 1969

    Casual you are a genius! It works in 4.6 :-) Morphing Props, yes! Thank you so much :-)

  • Cybersox13Cybersox13 Posts: 3,120
    edited December 1969

    Hmm. Would this be able to work with iClone dynamic cloth?

  • mCasualmCasual Posts: 3,093
    edited December 1969

    Hmm. Would this be able to work with iClone dynamic cloth?

    as long as you have a sequence of obj files
    the script can convert each obj into a morph
    which is applied to the first obj of the sequence
    then by animating between those morphs, you get the animation you had in Iclone happening in Daz Studio

    if there's 100 images in your animation, that's the data from 100 obj files that gets crammed into Daz Studio's memory

    so the clothing items cant be too too complex else you'll run out of memory

    but for simple capes and short animations it works well

Sign In or Register to comment.
Rocket Fuel