Digital Art Zone

 
     
Rearranging Tabs help needed for Studio 4.5
Posted: 29 October 2012 09:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  238
Joined  2012-08-08

New install of Studio 4.5 locates a number of tabs in a large tab on the left side: Smart Content, Content Library, Scene, Render Settings are grouped together.

I inadvertently moved one, Render Settings, and although I can put it back, it shows up in a separate “group” tab.

Something like this, though vertical:

Content Library Smart Content Scene       I       Render Settings

I don’t know if that will be clear, but the point being that the multiple large group tabs are not compact, and require an up/down arrow to fit. Needless to say, that adds more keystrokes to get to the tabs I want. How do I get back to the default install pattern, or, better yet, how can I group multiple panes in a single large tab based on my preferences?

This is a basic question that’s probably been answered, but I found no help searching on tabs or organize tabs.

Thank you.

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-07-21

You can grab the render settings tab and drop it close to the other tabs. Then they’ll become one tab group.

 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
me at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 08:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  238
Joined  2012-08-08

That’s a no-go, BlackFeather1973.

I tried every possible “close to,” but still end up with a separate group tab and the crowding-out of the other tabs. I went back to layout, and got the corrected tab schema, but it seems there should be some way to reorganize those tabs to suit my workflow.

Still in search of an answer.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 09:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14000
Joined  2003-10-09

Make sure you are moving the tab, not the window it floats in -click and drag on the words render Settings, and drop in the area that contains the to he tabs you want to dock it with (again, the actual tabs rather than the pane’s contents which were formerly, and confusingly, called tabs too).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 09:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  708
Joined  2012-07-21

Here’s another way : rightclick in the grey area of the tabgroup you want it to be in, Add Pane (Tab), choose the tab you want and it should jump right into that tab group.

Edit : you are right, nowefg, just tried to drag the tabs like i said before, this does not work any more in DS4.5

Image Attachments
tabs.png
 Signature 

my freebies at ShareCG
me at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 10:02 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  356
Joined  2004-04-07

Dragging tabs around still works in 4.5.1.6 unless you have the docking/undocking locked.

I think the toggle for locking tabs is CTRL u.

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 11:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  238
Joined  2012-08-08

Thanks, everyone. I’ll give it another go. Appreciate the helpful feedback.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 October 2012 08:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  238
Joined  2012-08-08

Thanks Richard; click-hold on the tab name worked. Not something I would have guessed!

It’s a relief to be able to set up the interface to suit; saves a lot of time, and makes the whole experience a lot more fun, i.e., effortless and productive.

.

Profile