Digital Art Zone

 
     
Windows 8 and Daz Studio 3.1.2.32 x64
Posted: 28 October 2012 03:33 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2004-12-04

Hi all,

Just wondered if anybody has managed to get Studio 3 to run in windows 8. If I start studio 3 it crashes instantly, before the intro picture even appears. I’ve tried running in compatibility mode and as admin, but no luck. Has anyone else had this problem or does anyone know a workaround?

Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 October 2012 02:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  820
Joined  2007-01-08

I don’t have Windows 8, and I have no idea at the moment of what the problem might be but you should check the log.txt file, which should be found, hmm,  in documents/<username>/ApplicationData/DAZ 3D/Studio3. Perhaps it holds some useful information of the precise point it crashes at.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 31 October 2012 03:26 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  4
Joined  2004-12-04

Did go through the log file and seemed to be a lot of “Failed to initialize” stuff. Thought it may have been an openGL problem. Anyway, couldn’t fix it. Installed 32 bit Studio 3 about 40 mins ago and oddly enough it runs like a dream! Might be 64 bit coding incompatibility for studio and win8.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 November 2012 08:16 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2010-01-25

I don’t know why, but, I had Windows 7 and Daz 3. I upgraded Win 7 to 8 and Daz 3 ran fine. On the same machine, I did a clean install of 8 due to some crap getting on my computer and now Daz 3 advance will not get to the splash screen to install. Daz 4 installs and runs fin in 8…

Follow up on it, I right clicked on the install, in the compatibility and chose windows 7 and then opened it as admin. seemed to install and load fine after that.

Profile