Digital Art Zone

 
   
5 of 8
5
Smart content “Where is it”  Mac OS X
Posted: 03 November 2012 05:19 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 61 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5907
Joined  2005-08-29

That warning file says a lot of warnings, which tells me that the database is not feeling very well.

You can turn back Verbose to 0 now.
What does the “non warning file say at the beginning”?

I recommend that you do the following:

First try the Migrate Old ContentDB (could be that you have an older version of the database)
Then, look at the of the files in Databases, ContentDB.dat & ContentDB.ind

Then do a ContentDB Reset, see attached screenshot. Now the sizes should be close to none.
Now do a reimport metadata.
Did they grow? Do Smart content work now?

Image Attachments
cmsreset.jpg
 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 62 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

Right.  I’ll try to sort that out.

Looks like I’m not the only one haveing the exact same problem though:

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/1288/#13401

I’ll try and get you that new screen grab in a minute.  Those warning only just started though.  Earlier tonight things were OK

Dale

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 63 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

Heres the screen grab of the last good Vlog.  The vlog before that was good and was the one that was large showing lots of content.  And theres been 3 warning vlogs since

Now I’m off to try some of that other stuff you suggested,

Thanks
Dale

Image Attachments
good_vlog.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 64 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

I did the migrate the old Database.  But I don’t follow your meaning in this line

“Then, look at the of the files in Databases, ContentDB.dat & ContentDB.ind”

Not sure what you want me too look at.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 06:31 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 65 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5907
Joined  2005-08-29
DaleCar - 03 November 2012 06:00 PM

I did the migrate the old Database.  But I don’t follow your meaning in this line

“Then, look at the of the files in Databases, ContentDB.dat & ContentDB.ind”

Not sure what you want me too look at.

File sizes.

OK, I just completely wiped my DS 4.5 install on one machine. Installed with all default installations. Installed content, and checked smart content, it’s working.
So now we need to figure out why it’s not working on your end. This was on Mac OS X 10.8.2.

Are you ready for some hard core trouble shooting in the terminal?

ghost:~ totteps -lax grep DAZ
/Library/DAZ 3D/Content Management Service/ContentManagementServer.app/Contents/MacOS/DAZ Content Management Service
/Applications/DAZ 3D/DAZStudio4 64-bit/DAZStudio.app/Contents/MacOS/DAZStudio -psn_0_19940099
grep DAZ 

I had to shorten the lines to almost fit in the forum
To see which DAZ processes was running and exactly where they are running from.

Next, when I have DS 4.5 running.

ghost:~ tottenetstat -f inet
Active Internet connections
Proto Recv
-Q Send-Q  Local Address          Foreign Address        (state)    
tcp4       0      0  localhost.27997      localhost.50757        ESTABLISHED
tcp4       0      0  localhost.50757        localhost.27997       ESTABLISHED 

To check of we have a connection established between DS4.5 and the CMS. The CMS is listening on Port 27997.

So, what do you get?

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 November 2012 06:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 66 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

Would it be advantageous for me to upgrade my system software to the 10.8?  I’ve just been putting it off But that would take some time for the downloads.

I have terminal opened.  Do you want me to put that first line in.  That you posted in blue?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 67 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

I’m downloading the system update to 10.8.2.  At this moment.  Its going to take 3.25 hours, though its jumping all over the place.

Dale

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 07:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 68 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5907
Joined  2005-08-29

I don’t think 10.8 will do anything, 10.7.5 and 10.8 have the same security features that can be a problem, not saying they are.

First command is:

ps -lax grep DAZ 

Second command is:

netstat -f inet 

 

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:03 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 69 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

OK.  Did that.  A rather long series of lines appeared after that.  Doesn’t mean anything to me.  Now what?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 70 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5907
Joined  2005-08-29

For the

netstat -f inet 

, look for an entry saying:

tcp4       0      0  localhost.27997      localhost.50757        ESTABLISHED 

If you cant find that, it means DS cannot connect to the CMS Server, then we can try to figure out why.

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 71 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

No.  I don’t see that anywhere in the list.  Uhhh.  Just thinking.  Should I have had Daz open when I did that?  It wasn’t.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 72 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

Well.  Tried that second command with Daz open.  Pretty much same results

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 08:57 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 73 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5907
Joined  2005-08-29

Then we can nail it down to DS cant communicate with the CMS.

When you did the first command, did you get the result I showed you in my post? Do you see both CMS and DS running?

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 11:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 74 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  123
Joined  2007-06-16

I think so.  Heres a screen grab of what I got.

Image Attachments
terminal_command_1.jpg
Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 November 2012 11:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 75 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5907
Joined  2005-08-29

If you give the commando

telnet 127.0.0.1 27997 

in the teminal, does it look like below:

ghost:~ tottetelnet 127.0.0.1 27997
Trying 127.0.0.1
...
Connected to localhost.
Escape character is '^]'.
dddd 

Or do you get something like “connection refused” or “cannot establish connection?

If you can connect, press CTRL+C to terminate the connection.

 

 Signature 

=============================================
My DAZ Gallery  | The adventures of Lomund
Free RPG adventures for DnD, O:FR and more: http://4eyes.code66.se
Community Volunteer

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club
I always look on the bright side of life, ‘cause I never expected the Spanish inquisition!

Profile
 
 
   
5 of 8
5