Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
V3 morphs and clothes in Genesis and V5?
Posted: 28 October 2012 08:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  59
Joined  2009-09-08

It’s faster and easier to do it by hand. Load the clothes with no parent over a stock Genesis male or female. Move the clothing to a close fit. Export the clothing (SubD-0). Do any touch up needed in Wings3d or Blender over a Genesis export ... male of female. Back in DS4xx New Scene load your stock Genesis (male or female) Load the clothing, Load your export as a morph target ... Convert to Triax or do a Prop to Figure in the Edit tab, now use your morph, then do the transfer using “Current” on the clothing and Reverse source shape if not a Stock Genesis ....

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 10:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1494
Joined  2003-10-09

That’s faster than just clicking “fit to” and then picking V3 from the original figures list?  smile  Your way gets nicer results (particularly for shoes) but for close-fitting garments, autofit does a good job and is very easy to use.

 Signature 

My DAZ Store
My Free Stuff
My Deviant Art

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 01:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  534
Joined  2005-01-19
Canary3d - 28 October 2012 10:05 AM

That’s faster than just clicking “fit to” and then picking V3 from the original figures list?  smile  Your way gets nicer results (particularly for shoes) but for close-fitting garments, autofit does a good job and is very easy to use.

Yes!!, shoes need re-rigging, Gen3 or Gen4, some flats and more heels, but clothes work better with one click autofit and a spoonful of smooth/push modifiers or a particular morph. Match shoes with foot is some times hard, I don’t want to figure out how Match complex clothes. I currently re-rig shoes easily, but I still waiting for somebody fix or upgrade autofit for shoes or create a script fixing this.

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 04:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  305
Joined  2003-10-09

One type of thing that doesn’t work well (yet) are long skirts or even mid-calf ones. Some break apart.

I’m hoping that we could get a different bone insertion for skirts that gives Front, Back, Left, Right maybe with a lower set as well for better movement. Not sure where to suggest this but it would make those fits much easier.

 Signature 

Freebies

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 06:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2004-01-11

Hi,

“OK since you asked about getting v3 clothing & items to work with genesis you will need to get the http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis to allow auto fit to work with gen 3 items.  If you want to transfer gen3 morphs you will need http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x and http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-bundle which will allow you to transfer morphs from gen3 figures over to genesis as well.”

I’m still a bit confused. I have already tried converting some V3 clothes into V5/genesis successfully using the free utility. However I notice that for example the V3 and v4 MFD dress which has “skirt” as one of its parts (and a very useful part because you can instantly adjust the y scaling and even x scaling for skirt length and width) you can’t do that using Studio 4.5 or genesis because the bone structure of the converted clothes is not the same. There is no “skirt”.

Furthermore the wonderful thing about V3 (using poser) was that every body part had scale sliders for each x,y and z axis as well as an overall scale slider.  Subtle manipulation of these sliders could be done without distorting the shape, and the same scaling params could be applied to nearly all the V3 clothing I used in Poser 6. However daz studio/genesis/genesis clothing seems to have a lack of scaling params, especially in x,y,z.

I am a bit confused about what the “iconic” shapes do that isn’t already available in Studio/genesis for cloth conversion, since my install of Studio/genesis does have a legacy V3 shape among the V5/Voluptuous/Genesis character sliders. The DAZ publicity blurb on gen X only mentions V4.There’s no mention of V3. Ideally I would like to be able to use all my V3 body/face addon morphs in Studio with genesis. Would this be possible using either iconic shapes or genx, and if so, do I need both and how do I go about importing the V3 extra DAZ body/face morphs for use in Studio?

Thanks SO MUCH for any advice.

Oh…while I’m here, I cannot make the genesis/v5 eyes in Daz Studio 4.5 appear properly. They are either grossly whited out, or the irises appear so bland and washed out they are useless. I’ve tried switching specular colour to black (eyes seem to load with the default white) but it makes no difference. The eyes also lack any reflective qualities and look dead.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 08:10 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

One of the problems with the eyes…the number/names of the surfaces/materials.

There are a number of things to play with and they can be a bit of a pain to get right, but when you do you can save out the settings as a preset and then apply to any eyes.

I prefer using eye textures that do not have ‘painted on’ reflections.  When I finish up with what I’m doing, I’ll see if I can get some renders/screenshots (if nobody else has any good eye tips)...

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 28 October 2012 10:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
leonardis - 28 October 2012 06:54 PM

I am a bit confused about what the “iconic” shapes do that isn’t already available in Studio/genesis for cloth conversion, since my install of Studio/genesis does have a legacy V3 shape among the V5/Voluptuous/Genesis character sliders. The DAZ publicity blurb on gen X only mentions V4.There’s no mention of V3. Ideally I would like to be able to use all my V3 body/face addon morphs in Studio with genesis. Would this be possible using either iconic shapes or genx, and if so, do I need both and how do I go about importing the V3 extra DAZ body/face morphs for use in Studio?

If you have the V3 slider then you must have the iconic shape.

To transfer Gen 3 morphs you need the iconic shape and the Gen3 addon for GenX as well as GenX itself.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 10:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2004-01-11

You’re right…I did have the iconic shape, but now I have another problem: I have a whole lot of V3 textures that I love using but Studio 4.5 DOESN’T have a V3 uv map option! A bit naughty of DAZ seeing as they must know many customers have spent shedloads of cash on V3 products from them yet can’t make V3 body UV maps work in Genesis after already purchasing Gen X products. There is a UV set conversion tutorial but it doesn’t work for me. How come DAZ provides UV sets by default for V4, Michael 4 etc but not for V3? If it they converted them for V4 then the software they used must surely be a simple few clicks away to do the same for V3. Oh well…...

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 11:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
leonardis - 29 October 2012 10:46 AM

You’re right…I did have the iconic shape, but now I have another problem: I have a whole lot of V3 textures that I love using but Studio 4.5 DOESN’T have a V3 uv map option! A bit naughty of DAZ seeing as they must know many customers have spent shedloads of cash on V3 products from them yet can’t make V3 body UV maps work in Genesis after already purchasing Gen X products. There is a UV set conversion tutorial but it doesn’t work for me. How come DAZ provides UV sets by default for V4, Michael 4 etc but not for V3? If it they converted them for V4 then the software they used must surely be a simple few clicks away to do the same for V3. Oh well…...

Unfortunately, it just wasn’t possible to do it directly, the Gen 3 UVs are laid out too differently.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2004-01-11
fixmypcmike - 29 October 2012 11:50 AM
leonardis - 29 October 2012 10:46 AM

You’re right…I did have the iconic shape, but now I have another problem: I have a whole lot of V3 textures that I love using but Studio 4.5 DOESN’T have a V3 uv map option! A bit naughty of DAZ seeing as they must know many customers have spent shedloads of cash on V3 products from them yet can’t make V3 body UV maps work in Genesis after already purchasing Gen X products. There is a UV set conversion tutorial but it doesn’t work for me. How come DAZ provides UV sets by default for V4, Michael 4 etc but not for V3? If it they converted them for V4 then the software they used must surely be a simple few clicks away to do the same for V3. Oh well…...

Unfortunately, it just wasn’t possible to do it directly, the Gen 3 UVs are laid out too differently.

Well thanks for the reply but wait a minute. Why has DAZ placed a tutorial specifically about converting UV maps for V3 (I believe the example given was the v3tov2 object file) when it doesn’t work? When you say the Gen 3 UVs are laid out too differently, do you mean DAZ feels it can’t be bothered to solve that problem despite the fact that hundreds, possibly thousands of your customers have purchased Genx , iconic shapes, genesis morphs plus all the the legacy v3 stuff and they can’t get a simple body/face texture to map properly in Studio 4.5? Come on guys - it really is a limp excuse to say “laid out too differently”. How long would it take for someone at Daz to spend a little effort making V3 UV maps so that hundreds of v3 addons (many from DAZ itself) will work in genesis/studio?

I believe there is a commercial product for converting v3 or other UV maps for use in studio format sold on this website. Are you saying this software doesn’t work for v3 when it is advertised as being precisely that? If it does work, then without wishing to deprive the developer of his reward, why are you providing v4 and m4 UV maps but not V3 by default? My reasoning is that there are a factor of 4 or 5 times the number of texture products for v3 than there are for v4 and there must be a huge number of your customers who have V3 stuff lying around not being usable in Studio, yet you are happy to sell GenX products specifically designed for V3 conversion use.

I think it is reasonable to ask you please to solve the problem and provide your customers with a full range of UV maps, including V3. I have sent a support query ( I think my first in many years) to ask for the same. I respectfully ask that you consider that request as being entirely reasonable. Thanks.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8513
Joined  2007-11-06
leonardis - 29 October 2012 12:08 PM
fixmypcmike - 29 October 2012 11:50 AM
leonardis - 29 October 2012 10:46 AM

You’re right…I did have the iconic shape, but now I have another problem: I have a whole lot of V3 textures that I love using but Studio 4.5 DOESN’T have a V3 uv map option! A bit naughty of DAZ seeing as they must know many customers have spent shedloads of cash on V3 products from them yet can’t make V3 body UV maps work in Genesis after already purchasing Gen X products. There is a UV set conversion tutorial but it doesn’t work for me. How come DAZ provides UV sets by default for V4, Michael 4 etc but not for V3? If it they converted them for V4 then the software they used must surely be a simple few clicks away to do the same for V3. Oh well…...

Unfortunately, it just wasn’t possible to do it directly, the Gen 3 UVs are laid out too differently.

Well thanks for the reply but wait a minute. Why has DAZ placed a tutorial specifically about converting UV maps for V3 (I believe the example given was the v3tov2 object file) when it doesn’t work? When you say the Gen 3 UVs are laid out too differently, do you mean DAZ feels it can’t be bothered to solve that problem despite the fact that hundreds, possibly thousands of your customers have purchased Genx , iconic shapes, genesis morphs plus all the the legacy v3 stuff and they can’t get a simple body/face texture to map properly in Studio 4.5? Come on guys - it really is a limp excuse to say “laid out too differently”. How long would it take for someone at Daz to spend a little effort making V3 UV maps so that hundreds of v3 addons (many from DAZ itself) will work in genesis/studio?

I believe there is a commercial product for converting v3 or other UV maps for use in studio format sold on this website. Are you saying this software doesn’t work for v3 when it is advertised as being precisely that? If it does work, then without wishing to deprive the developer of his reward, why are you providing v4 and m4 UV maps but not V3 by default? My reasoning is that there are a factor of 4 or 5 times the number of texture products for v3 than there are for v4 and there must be a huge number of your customers who have V3 stuff lying around not being usable in Studio, yet you are happy to sell GenX products specifically designed for V3 conversion use.

I think it is reasonable to ask you please to solve the problem and provide your customers with a full range of UV maps, including V3. I have sent a support query ( I think my first in many years) to ask for the same. I respectfully ask that you consider that request as being entirely reasonable. Thanks.

As I understand it, UV switching can’t change material zones—all it can do is indicate which vertices on the object map to which points on a single map.  To map the Gen 3 textures to Genesis would require one material zone to take bits from 2 different maps at different levels of resolution, which can’t be done natively.  I’ve been told that DAZ 3D tried to make it work, but couldn’t.  It may be that someone can figure out a way to do it, but currently the only way that’s known to work is to use a texture converter like TC2 to create new maps.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 07:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  45
Joined  2004-01-11

Thanks for the response. OK, that sounds reasonable. I don’t mind converting textures to keep legacy stuff alive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 10:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1339
Joined  0
GreyMouser69 - 27 October 2012 11:18 AM

OK since you asked about getting v3 clothing & items to work with genesis you will need to get the http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis to allow auto fit to work with gen 3 items.  If you want to transfer gen3 morphs you will need http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x and http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-bundle which will allow you to transfer morphs from gen3 figures over to genesis as well.

Are you saying I would need all 3 of these items to use my gen3 items in DS 4.5 with Genesis?

Kharma

 Signature 

“If you get a chance….Take it!  If it changes your life….Let it!.  Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it.”

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 01:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2224
Joined  2005-09-05
Kharma - 02 November 2012 10:29 AM
GreyMouser69 - 27 October 2012 11:18 AM

OK since you asked about getting v3 clothing & items to work with genesis you will need to get the http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis to allow auto fit to work with gen 3 items.  If you want to transfer gen3 morphs you will need http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x and http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-bundle which will allow you to transfer morphs from gen3 figures over to genesis as well.

Are you saying I would need all 3 of these items to use my gen3 items in DS 4.5 with Genesis?

Kharma

that would depend on which clothing you wish to convert…if you only have a3 clothing you would only need the a3 shape and so on….

 Signature 

Shadermixer tutorials and recipes
My ShareCG Gallery
Shadermixer Documents

Profile
 
 
Posted: 02 November 2012 02:57 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  534
Joined  2005-01-19
Kharma - 02 November 2012 10:29 AM
GreyMouser69 - 27 October 2012 11:18 AM

OK since you asked about getting v3 clothing & items to work with genesis you will need to get the http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis to allow auto fit to work with gen 3 items.  If you want to transfer gen3 morphs you will need http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x and http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-bundle which will allow you to transfer morphs from gen3 figures over to genesis as well.

Are you saying I would need all 3 of these items to use my gen3 items in DS 4.5 with Genesis?

Kharma

For clothes:
  A3/H3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/a3-and-h3-shapes-for-genesis/  or
  V3/M3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis/  or
  S3/F3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/stephanie-3-and-freak-shapes-for-genesis/
 
  All A3/H3/V3/M3/S3/F3: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis (pay 2, obtain 3)
 
  D3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/david-3-for-genesis

For morphs:
  Your old morphs + gen3 shapes + DS4pro tools + Hexagon 2.5 + much time to lost (DS4.0 information, I hadn’t time to prove in DS4.5, maybe it is better, maybe not) or an easy option:

  GenX http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genesis-generation-x  plus:
    A3/H3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-for-a3-and-h3/  plus http://www.daz3d.com/shop/a3-and-h3-shapes-for-genesis/  or
    V3/M3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-for-v3-and-m3/ plus http://www.daz3d.com/shop/v3-and-m3-shapes-for-genesis/  or
    S3/F3/D3 only: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-for-s3-d3-and-f3/  plus http://www.daz3d.com/shop/stephanie-3-and-freak-shapes-for-genesis/  and   http://www.daz3d.com/shop/david-3-for-genesis

  All A3/H3/V3/M3/S3/F3/D3: http://www.daz3d.com/shop/genx-addon-gen3-bundle plus http://www.daz3d.com/shop/gen-3-iconic-shapes-for-genesis and http://www.daz3d.com/shop/david-3-for-genesis


For more than a couple is better to buy bundles: 3 couples with the price of 2

 

 

 Signature 

Playing with shaders

http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/20283/

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2