Digital Art Zone

7 of 14
WINDOWS 8 ?
Posted: 30 October 2012 06:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 91 ]
RankRank
Total Posts:  997
Joined  2012-01-29

I hope you are not right and the end of desktops is not nearing, Kendall. Gamers, hobbyists and other home users are not the only ones who use PCs. Millions of people use desktops at work, any any tries to replace them with something else would be only for the worse. I work as an accountant and I sure as hell don´t expect my boss to buy me a TV to use it as a screen. I don´t need my working computer to be mobile, I work in the office the whole day and am not going anywhere.

Frankly, I cannot imagine what I would do with a tablet at work. It is good for use at home, when you want to play some games, but other than this I see no advantages for using tablet over desktop. Not to mention the problems with backache and similar health problems resulting from being hunched over a tablet for too long a time. 8 or more hours of tablet usage at work - no, thank you!  Plus if you use TV as your screen at home, what if other family member/s want to watch TV? Buy another TV? Why not buy a proper desktop instead, then?

Posted: 30 October 2012 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 92 ]
Addict
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  5582
Joined  2006-02-20

Ooops. The nice thing about the W7 XP-Mode is the USB support.
Without USB support you don’t get the scanner to run.
Me stays with W7, me thinks.

Signature 

I like Bryce, DazStudio, Poser and Vue ... in alphabetical order. And I would probably like Carrara too, if I could find the time to become acquainted with it. Peace?

Posted: 30 October 2012 07:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 93 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16
Kendall Sears - 30 October 2012 01:01 AM

...Yes, but the point is that the “tablet” is becoming more than enough to replace the PC in the average home..Those running “high end” applications may need more “horsepower”, but the normal household does not…