Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Where do I install the different files for DSON?
Posted: 25 October 2012 12:59 PM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2004-07-03

Loaded DSON into Poser 2012, and the basic installation seems to be working well.  Now, I’m ready to install the Genesis files that came with the figures which I’d previously ignored. 

I’m placing all my genesis files into it’s own directory, named Genesis…

For example, I want to load Thorne’s Princess which is DSON compatible.  The DAZ files are:
13503_PrincessV4_1.2_dpc.exe
13503_PrincessLegacy_1.2_trx.exe
13503_PrincessPoserCF_1.2_dpc.exe
13503_Princess_1.2_trx.exe

I’ve tried loading all four into my C:\DAZ\Genesis directory I use for all my Poser/Genesis figures.  The content shows up and the mat file loads but none of the figure loads for head or body load into the genesis basic female.
Any suggestions???
Thanks, Ron

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 04:15 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06

For Poser you only need to install the last two, the .trx and the PoserCF.  Make sure you’re loading Genesis presets and not V4 injections.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 05:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  521
Joined  2006-07-28

All these files are just too confusing, especially with products that are more than 4 or 6 months old.  While this doesn’t exactly have anything to do with the original question, I want to make sure I understand what all these files are for.

Poser/DS install file for V4 to be installed in whatever runtime I’d normally install Gen 4 content.
13503_PrincessV4_1.2_dpc.exe


DSON installer which should be installed in whatever runtime I install Genesis DSON content.
13503_PrincessPoserCF_1.2_dpc.exe

DS installer which should also be installed in whatever runtime I install Genesis DSON content.
13503_Princess_1.2_trx.exe

Pre DSON DAZ Studio (older than DS4.5) Genesis? installer?  As a Poser only user, I can ignore it completely.
13503_PrincessLegacy_1.2_trx.exe


Old ds installer (pre Genesis?) which I would also ignore ... unless there was no trx file?
13503_PrincessV4_1.2_ds.exe
(I encountered several ds installers while installing Genesis/V5/S5 bundle content yesterday)

fixmypcmike - 25 October 2012 04:15 PM

For Poser you only need to install the last two, the .trx and the PoserCF.  Make sure you’re loading Genesis presets and not V4 injections.

 Signature 

Satira Capriccio on deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 04:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13683
Joined  2003-10-09

The CF installer is the Poser Companion Files - that should go in your Poser folder. All files should be in foldrs available to Poser as content libraries.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 27 October 2012 11:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  521
Joined  2006-07-28

Well yeah!  It’s the Poser Companion file.  Which is different from the actual DSON Core installer.  (Just another indication of how confusing all this stuff is that I called it a DSON installer instead of Poser Companion installer ... when I knew it was the Poser Companion files.)

and of course ... I knew “whatever runtime I install Genesis DSON content” meant Poser Companion content.  And ... that there are almost as many places as there are Poser users for a Windows user to install Poser content (like ... the Poser application Runtime, the Poser ‘version’ content Runtime or some other ‘external’ Poser Runtime folder, or even the Studio/My Library Runtime) as long as that Runtime is mapped in Poser.)

Since the Poser Companion installer cluttered up my Poser Runtime with a whole bunch of DS folders outside the Runtime folder, I’m happier keeping the Genesis content completely segregated from my Poser content.

I have to have SOME organization in my life!

.

Richard Haseltine - 26 October 2012 04:53 AM

The CF installer is the Poser Companion Files - that should go in your Poser folder. All files should be in foldrs available to Poser as content libraries.

 Signature 

Satira Capriccio on deviantART

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  496
Joined  2011-04-19

A Que Plz.
I have Windows 7

I downloaded the Dson into my poser 9, I downloaded V5 Made for the Dson in.
I see her in my program but I can’t bring her into my work area.
I get a message saying Dson not found, I see the folder in there when I look in the folder where it was Auto put.

Is there a different way to bring her in, I can’t get any of them to pull up, or did I do something wrong ?

I downloaded the files:

DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.13_Win64,  Since that’s what my computer says, instead of the Win 32.

Then I downloaded:

14812_GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.6_dpc
And
14812_GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx

There was 4 files for Window’s PC, I downloaded the 3 files, It Auto put them in.

Any help sure would be appreciated
Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06
Alethas Fantasy - 29 October 2012 12:54 AM

A Que Plz.
I have Windows 7

I downloaded the Dson into my poser 9, I downloaded V5 Made for the Dson in.
I see her in my program but I can’t bring her into my work area.
I get a message saying Dson not found, I see the folder in there when I look in the folder where it was Auto put.

Is there a different way to bring her in, I can’t get any of them to pull up, or did I do something wrong ?

I downloaded the files:

DSON_Importer_for_Poser_1.0.0.13_Win64,  Since that’s what my computer says, instead of the Win 32.

Then I downloaded:

14812_GenesisStarterEssentialsPoserCF_1.6_dpc
And
14812_GenesisStarterEssentials_1.6_trx

There was 4 files for Window’s PC, I downloaded the 3 files, It Auto put them in.

Any help sure would be appreciated
Thanks

You need the 32-bit version because Poser 9 is 32-bit, even if your OS is 64-bit.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 01:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  496
Joined  2011-04-19

My friend has the same computer & it wouldn’t let her put in the 64 bit so she put in the 32 & her’s is doing the same way, she can see it but they want pull up in the work area & she gets the same message as I do.

So how do I take out the 64 bit install, I never have my install to have a icon on the window to uninstall or I would have hunders of them.
Will it hurt to just go ahead & install the 32 with the 64 still in there?

If I do the 32 then it would be like my friends & still not work.
but I’ll try anything, really wanted to get some stuff for it while Daz has it on sell.

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 05:46 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13683
Joined  2003-10-09

Try installing the 64 bit version again, with the same settings but this time allow it to create an uninstaller. Then uninstall and install the 32 bit version instead (though they shouldn’t conflict, since a user with Poser pro 2012 might have both versions, or might also have Poser 9, installed).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 05:59 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  496
Joined  2011-04-19

I tried running the 32 bit, if gave me the chance to uninstall before installing the 32 so I said yes, it uninstalled 64 & put in 32, but as my friend, I can see V5 but she will not go into my work area & gives me this message:  :(

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File “C:\Program Files (x86)\Smith Micro\Poser 9\Runtime\libraries\Character\DAZ People\Victoria 5\Victoria 5.py”, line 1, in <module>
  import dson.dzdsonimporter
ImportError: No module named dson.dzdsonimporter

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 06:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1818
Joined  2004-08-24

HI smile

I tried running the 32 bit, if gave me the chance to uninstall before installing the 32 so I said yes, it uninstalled 64 & put in 32,

this seems wrong.

A 32 bit program, and a 64 bit program can BOTH be installed on the same system,..
The 32 bit installer will only see the 32 bit “previous version”
and it won’t uninstall a 64 bit version. it’s a different program, in a different folder structure.

The same applies to the 64bit program,.. it will only un-install a previous 64 bit installation, ...Not a 32 bit version.

I have both Poser 9 (32 bit) and Poser pro 2012 (64 bit)

So, I have BOTH the 32 bit DSON in poser 9 , and the 64bit DSON in Poser2012

The DSON importer needs to be installed into your main program folder. EG: Poser9

Hope that makes sense smile

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 06:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  496
Joined  2011-04-19

I had installed the 32 with the 64 in there then went back with the 32 so I guess it must of uninstalled the 32 & put it back in there I guess I need to try the 64 to see if it will ask, so I guess it’s still in there. :(

I pointed it to download to “C:\Program Files (x86)\Smith Micro\Poser 9 & clicked OK.

Is that where I am to download it at ?

Thanks for your help.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 07:13 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  496
Joined  2011-04-19

It is out & I checked the add remove in my computer also, put back the 32 again just incase. lol

Open my program posers 9 & still doing the same thing.

I noticed where my Posers 7 & posers 9 it has a folder Poser Pro 2012 don’t know how or when it got there, all that is in it is a uninstall folder.

I think I need to re-install my poser 9 take everything out & re download the program & leave it alone, the Dson is way to hard & way over my head. lol

Thanks

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1818
Joined  2004-08-24

Poser Pro 2012 don’t know how or when it got there, all that is in it is a uninstall folder.

This was probably created when you installed the 64bit version.. it shouldn’t be there, ...but you should run the Uninstaller in that folder to see if it uninstalls anything, ...if it doesn’t,. or says it can’t find anything to uninstall,  then you should be able to delete that Poser2012 folder and the uninstaller file.

You shouldn’t need to re install poser.
you should have an uninstaller for the 32 bit version of DSON,. and that should remove it…

A couple of questions or thoughts, before you do anything,...

Q: Is your Poser 9 version updated to the latest service pack (I think its 3.1)

Q: Is your Daz Studio,. the latest 4.5.1.6 version.

both of these are needed for DSON in Poser to work.

So,..
If you’re running Poser 9. you need to install the 32bit DSON and have the latest service pack for Poser, and the latest Daz Studio.

If you’re running Poser 2012 64bit , then you need the 64 bit DSON ..plus the latest service pack for that, and the latest Daz Studio

Hope it helps smile

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 11:43 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8425
Joined  2007-11-06
3DAGE - 29 October 2012 09:53 AM

Poser Pro 2012 don’t know how or when it got there, all that is in it is a uninstall folder.

This was probably created when you installed the 64bit version.. it shouldn’t be there, ...but you should run the Uninstaller in that folder to see if it uninstalls anything, ...if it doesn’t,. or says it can’t find anything to uninstall,  then you should be able to delete that Poser2012 folder and the uninstaller file.

You shouldn’t need to re install poser.
you should have an uninstaller for the 32 bit version of DSON,. and that should remove it…

A couple of questions or thoughts, before you do anything,...

Q: Is your Poser 9 version updated to the latest service pack (I think its 3.1)

Q: Is your Daz Studio,. the latest 4.5.1.6 version.

both of these are needed for DSON in Poser to work.

So,..
If you’re running Poser 9. you need to install the 32bit DSON and have the latest service pack for Poser, and the latest Daz Studio.

If you’re running Poser 2012 64bit , then you need the 64 bit DSON ..plus the latest service pack for that, and the latest Daz Studio

Hope it helps smile

You don’t need DS to use DSON, only to convert products that haven’t been converted yet.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1818
Joined  2004-08-24

You’re quite right Mike ,. My bad,

...over-thinking,.. or under-thinking again.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1
 
[ Materials      concept art ]