Digital Art Zone

 
     
bassackwards?
Posted: 25 October 2012 12:37 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8479
Joined  2009-07-13

ok, why is Daz studio 4.5 exporting obj files in mirror image??
at first I thought it was iClone 3dxchange but they open backwards in Carrara too.
fbx ok if it is a figure, (props get all zeroed so not much good for that)
fine if textless but Moonshine’s diner backwards does not go so well unless I apply a horizontal flip in Windows live moviemaker editing it for youtube
DS3 ok

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15

I just tried this using DS4.5 and Hexagon.  Exported Genesis as an Obj with a little posing, and it loads the correct way in Hexagon, as do all other OBJ files in Hex, so I don’t know what is happening for you?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8348
Joined  2009-05-14

Yep does that with the standalone Ivy Generator too…sorry can’t remember which of the x,y and z coordinates I changed on exporting to fix it.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8479
Joined  2009-07-13

Genesus symmetrical so how would you know?
did it for the Moonshine diner, Stonemason’s warehouse to name a few, so I redid them using DS3 instead but want to know why.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 01:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8348
Joined  2009-05-14

Good point, bend a finger tip on one side. I have only exported buildings.

Sorry no idea why.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Facebook

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 02:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  17125
Joined  2003-10-09
Szark - 25 October 2012 01:49 PM

Yep does that with the standalone Ivy Generator too…sorry can’t remember which of the x,y and z coordinates I changed on exporting to fix it.


In Bryce if I want to reverse anything it is the X

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        NeilV’s Freebies and stuff        Winter Bryce Rendering Challenge        December Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 03:39 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15
wendy♥catz - 25 October 2012 01:50 PM

Genesus symmetrical so how would you know?
did it for the Moonshine diner, Stonemason’s warehouse to name a few, so I redid them using DS3 instead but want to know why.

Symmetrical or not, surely if the figure is mirrored I would know?  It would mean left arm down in DS4 and right arm down on import?

If that is not the case, then it is not mirroring.

EDIT:

I just truied this with the Medieval Gatehouse which is definitely not symmetrical, and it dod not mirror or reverse or anything else.  It is exactly as it was in DAZ Studio.  Itried some toehr buildings as well, I don;t have the Diner, so I don;t know what is going on.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 03:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15778
Joined  2003-10-09

What are your export settings? Are they the same as in DS3?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 04:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13
wendy♥catz - 25 October 2012 12:37 PM

ok, why is Daz studio 4.5 exporting obj files in mirror image??
at first I thought it was iClone 3dxchange but they open backwards in Carrara too.
fbx ok if it is a figure, (props get all zeroed so not much good for that)
fine if textless but Moonshine’s diner backwards does not go so well unless I apply a horizontal flip in Windows live moviemaker editing it for youtube
DS3 ok

On export you are given some options…make sure that you click the ‘Show Individual Settings” button, so you can see all your options and then…

Image Attachments
screen20.png
 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 12:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8479
Joined  2009-07-13

well here are my settings for DS4 and 3
only difference I noticed I checked collect maps for Bryce which makes Carrara (not iClone 3Dx5) search for textures
the DS4 one needs to be rotated90 on the X-axis and 180 on the Y but still a mirror image

Image Attachments
Untitled.jpgUntitled1.jpgDoc2.png
 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 07:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15778
Joined  2003-10-09

You have the Y and Z axes swapped in the DS4 settings.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 07:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8479
Joined  2009-07-13

oh, I have too!
how does that happen without ticking anything?

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 08:47 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Start with one of the presets that have it that way…like the Blender one…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 10:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7100
Joined  2005-08-15

I’m glad it is sorted for you now Wendy, it must have been really annoying.

Well spotted Richard.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 10:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8479
Joined  2009-07-13

yet to try, busy checking a drive AND rendering in Carrara, I assume picking a preset option like Daz studio or Poser would fix it or the little arrows, must lose that Bryce texture option too, no good for Carrara, iClone makes no difference.

 Signature 

WARNING do not click tongue rolleye what video horrors will be seen if you do cannot be unseen.
my render thread
        never forget
A Drows Walk
Jaderail is at it again

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 05:33 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Start with DAZ or Poser and then change the materials options to what you need,

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile