Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Questions regarding free content ‘for’ purchased items in the store.
Posted: 24 October 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4779
Joined  2012-04-07

Okay ... let’s say one has several texture images that could be used on a particular clothing item sold in the store.

I’m using D/S4.0 for the time being.

If I create mat files ‘for’ new textures [I make] ‘for’ clothing ‘somebody else made’ ... where in the folders of D/S4 do people want them to appear?

For eg. The Summer Dress is followed in the Content Manager by a texture set called Breezy.

Would it be preferable for me to have my texture item then inside that subfolder for Summer Dress so its folder is nestled beside that of Breezy?
Or somewhere else altogether ... like we used to do in D/S3?

If people want metadata for either 4.0 or 4.5, are there any ‘templates’ I can fill in to produce these? [or if there’s a magik button to push in 4.0 that generates this, where is it located?]

Thank you.

 

 

 

Image Attachments
SummerDots.jpg
 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 02:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15317
Joined  2003-10-09

I was persuaded by quite a few people that the best way was to make sure that the mat pose folders all started with my name, so people could have a chohole folder, but then I did make a few textures. rolleyes

And I make my texture folders and Mat pose folders have the same name, not different names. I direct the path on the mat poses to a texture folder called chohole, and then in there I have separate folders for each set, with the same name as the mat pose folder.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4779
Joined  2012-04-07
chohole - 24 October 2012 02:55 PM

I was persuaded by quite a few people that the best way was to make sure that the mat pose folders all started with my name, so people could have a chohole folder, but then I did make a few textures. rolleyes

And I make my texture folders and Mat pose folders have the same name, not different names. I direct the path on the mat poses to a texture folder called chohole, and then in there I have separate folders for each set, with the same name as the mat pose folder.

With regards to the texture folder, definitely that’s under my name! I wouldn’t want to chance overwriting anybody else’s work.

Came across your new [?] website last night ... that’s quite the display! Don’t think I’ll ever make quite as many as you have done, nor near so lovely ... but a little here and there, providing some diversity for folk.

Are you making metadata?

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15317
Joined  2003-10-09

nope, I make the Poser mat poses, Neil adds DS mat files for me And so far Neil hasn’t added any metadata that I know of.

Do textures need metadata ?

And the site isn’t new, just moved to a different server.

Asked Neil and he says no he doesn’t do metadata for freebies.  When he is working as a PA, the QA people add the metadata.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4779
Joined  2012-04-07
chohole - 24 October 2012 03:22 PM

nope, I make the Poser mat poses, Neil adds DS mat files for me And so far Neil hasn’t added any metadata that I know of.

Do textures need metadata ?

And the site isn’t new, just moved to a different server.

Asked Neil and he says no he doesn’t do metadata for freebies.  When he is working as a PA, the QA people add the metadata.

Okay! grin Then I shall not fret over this either.

Hope the new home works out well for you ... I was thinking ‘remember the bandwidth’ while visiting and only took a few items wink

 

 

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:43 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15317
Joined  2003-10-09

My host, who is a member here, does keep an eye on the bandwidth, but so far we haven’t had any real hiccups, not like we did before when Francemi was hosting me.  It was mass downloaders that hit us there.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 04:53 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2011-09-13
chohole - 24 October 2012 03:22 PM

nope, I make the Poser mat poses, Neil adds DS mat files for me And so far Neil hasn’t added any metadata that I know of.

Do textures need metadata ?

Metadata is as handy for textures as for anything else. I click on Genesis and all the hair models I intend to use with it are in the Hair category section; I click on the hair and all the textures for that particular hair appear. I’ve set metadata for a good deal of my runtime now. I’ve never been a fan of the Poser runtime system and adding metadata means I have to go in there less and less. It becomes very quick when you get the hang of it—categorize and add database entry (setting type and compatibility). If you are adding a new figure, then it’s a matter of also creating compatibility base for it and scene identification data, but it takes me just a few minutes per product. You should probably create product data if you are actually putting a product together, but I don’t bother with that myself as it’s not essential.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 04:56 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15317
Joined  2003-10-09

I am told that if you are making add on textures for store products that already have metadata it is not really neccessary.

But as a Poser user, I can only go on what I am told..

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 06:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  538
Joined  2011-04-12
Patience55 - 24 October 2012 02:50 PM

Would it be preferable for me to have my texture item then inside that subfolder for Summer Dress so its folder is nestled beside that of Breezy?

This is what I would prefer.  The less time I have to spend navigating back and forth through directories, the happier I am.

 Signature 

Not interested in the giant leap backwards that is “Genesis 2”.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 06:59 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07
Patience55 - 24 October 2012 03:37 PM
chohole - 24 October 2012 03:22 PM

nope, I make the Poser mat poses, Neil adds DS mat files for me And so far Neil hasn’t added any metadata that I know of.

Do textures need metadata ?

And the site isn’t new, just moved to a different server.

Asked Neil and he says no he doesn’t do metadata for freebies.  When he is working as a PA, the QA people add the metadata.

Okay! grin Then I shall not fret over this either.

Hope the new home works out well for you ... I was thinking ‘remember the bandwidth’ while visiting and only took a few items wink

 


You don’t need to create metadata, but then people won’t be able to use your textures in Smart Content. However, it is grossly incorrect to say that “add on textures for store products that already have metadata it is not really neccessary”. They do NEED metadata otherwise they won’t work, but if you’re doing a freebie you can choose to skip the metadata. I’m sure no-one will complain if its a freebie.

There’s a link in my sig to the DAZ Studio Metadata Toolkit for creating & dsitributing your own metadata. I strongly recommend you read the entire tutorial otherwise you are likely to get stuck.

Good luck!! grin

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 11:37 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4779
Joined  2012-04-07
cridgit - 24 October 2012 06:59 PM
Patience55 - 24 October 2012 03:37 PM
chohole - 24 October 2012 03:22 PM

nope, I make the Poser mat poses, Neil adds DS mat files for me And so far Neil hasn’t added any metadata that I know of.

Do textures need metadata ?

And the site isn’t new, just moved to a different server.

Asked Neil and he says no he doesn’t do metadata for freebies.  When he is working as a PA, the QA people add the metadata.

Okay! grin Then I shall not fret over this either.

Hope the new home works out well for you ... I was thinking ‘remember the bandwidth’ while visiting and only took a few items wink

 


You don’t need to create metadata, but then people won’t be able to use your textures in Smart Content. However, it is grossly incorrect to say that “add on textures for store products that already have metadata it is not really neccessary”. They do NEED metadata otherwise they won’t work, but if you’re doing a freebie you can choose to skip the metadata. I’m sure no-one will complain if its a freebie.

There’s a link in my sig to the DAZ Studio Metadata Toolkit for creating & dsitributing your own metadata. I strongly recommend you read the entire tutorial otherwise you are likely to get stuck.

Good luck!! grin

Thank you wink

 

 

 Signature 
Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 05:22 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15317
Joined  2003-10-09

But then even some of the die hard DS users don’t bother with smart content and metadata.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 05:39 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  894
Joined  2007-01-04
chohole - 25 October 2012 05:22 AM

But then even some of the die hard DS users don’t bother with smart content and metadata.

Yep, and it doesn’t matter to us where you put the MAT files as we’ll always move them to suit our needs.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 05:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  15317
Joined  2003-10-09

Agreed, I am very much a DIY person, when it come to organising my runtimes.

 Signature 

Chohole’s Space        Neil’Vs Freebies and stuff        L Summer Bryce Rendering Challenge        July Freebie Challenge
My DAZ 3D Gallery    11915

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 09:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  208
Joined  2011-09-13

I think this has a lot to do with whether you use Genesis extensively and have a lot of products that have metadata with them by default. I find it’s much easier using these products via Smart Content than from the DAZ Formats Content Library folder, which is even more confusing for me than the Poser Formats library. This gets you using SC and you start to see the benefits. Otherwise you aren’t going to see the point of it. By adding metadata to the rest of your stuff you will then only have one place to go for content instead of two or possibly three. I think it is newer users who are going to be more motivated to understand and use SC for this reason.

I’ve only fairly recently started using Smart Content for “runtime” stuff and I had up until that point extensively reorganized my runtime, but I now find SC more convenient. I’m also probably weird in quite enjoying adding metadata—I find it quite fun!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 09:50 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07
Hiro Protagonist - 25 October 2012 09:28 AM

I think this has a lot to do with whether you use Genesis extensively and have a lot of products that have metadata with them by default. I find it’s much easier using these products via Smart Content than from the DAZ Formats Content Library folder, which is even more confusing for me than the Poser Formats library. This gets you using SC and you start to see the benefits. Otherwise you aren’t going to see the point of it. By adding metadata to the rest of your stuff you will then only have one place to go for content instead of two or possibly three. I think it is newer users who are going to be more motivated to understand and use SC for this reason.

I’ve only fairly recently started using Smart Content for “runtime” stuff and I had up until that point extensively reorganized my runtime, but I now find SC more convenient. I’m also probably weird in quite enjoying adding metadata—I find it quite fun!


Me too! I think the enjoyment has to do with stimulating different parts of the brain. I’m at my happiest when I’ve got several things happening at once, and usually something technical like coding, something artsy like a Reality render, and something organizationy like my Smart Content and metadata. I find it very satisfying to have my stuff properly organized, and working with product thumbnails rather than files adds a tremendously pleasant aesthetic. I used to play Napoleonic wargames as a kid and I got a kick out of having my guns, dragoons and hussars all nicely lined up before battle grin

Please tell me if you think this is off-topic and I’ll edit it to say something sensible (and a little less embarrassing).

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1