Digital Art Zone

 
     
Help needed please.  File structure.
Posted: 24 October 2012 02:34 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2007-06-17

I am trying to create a simple product.  Mesh and textures.  When created, it works on my system of course.  However, I cannot figure out the structure it should follow to create a product usable by others.  Everything seems to be in place but when I zip it up and transfer it to another computer, that computer’s DAZ Studio says that it cannot find various files as it tries to load the object & textures.

Is there a diagram or something somewhere to guide content creation?  I’ve looked at the DS4 online manual but it only discusses content for Genesis.  How different would prop & material creation be?

Very frustrated, thanks for any help,
Scott

Free terrain product for anyone to offer up some seriously good and useful instruction - a nice and easy to follow step-by-step guide - goes to the first person (or two).

As much as I seem to be struggling with this, assume I don’t even know how to turn on my computer.  (Ok, maybe not that bad…)

Thanks

 Signature 

NSFW (maybe) scotthagel.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

Did you place the textures in the actual folders, in your content directories and then apply them?

If you applied them from a temporary/working folder, the prop/figure files were most likely written using those paths.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 02:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Sounds more like you have have hard coded file paths instead of relative file paths.

For DS items the Path should start at My Library for all My Library folders.

For any item or part of a item in the Runtime folder that Path should start at Runtime for all Poser (runtime) folders.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2007-06-17
mjc1016 - 24 October 2012 02:41 PM

Did you place the textures in the actual folders, in your content directories and then apply them?

If you applied them from a temporary/working folder, the prop/figure files were most likely written using those paths.

Before creating the material presets, I placed the textures in My Library/Runtime/Textures under the product name.  Correct?

AND

The obj files are in the My Library/Runtime/Geometry folder…

 Signature 

NSFW (maybe) scotthagel.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2007-06-17
Jaderail - 24 October 2012 02:54 PM

Sounds more like you have have hard coded file paths instead of relative file paths.

For DS items the Path should start at My Library for all My Library folders.

For any item or part of a item in the Runtime folder that Path should start at Runtime for all Poser (runtime) folders.

 

So hard coded vs relative paths.  What can be done about this if that’s the case?
Everything is under the My Library folder (on my system) but how do I know if that is relative or not?

 

 Signature 

NSFW (maybe) scotthagel.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 03:38 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13703
Joined  2003-10-09
muddpuddle - 24 October 2012 03:05 PM
mjc1016 - 24 October 2012 02:41 PM

Did you place the textures in the actual folders, in your content directories and then apply them?

If you applied them from a temporary/working folder, the prop/figure files were most likely written using those paths.

Before creating the material presets, I placed the textures in My Library/Runtime/Textures under the product name.  Correct?

AND

The obj files are in the My Library/Runtime/Geometry folder…

What format are you saving in? .daz won’t look for the OBJ file but for the files DS creates from the OBJ in the \Data folder, and it’s those you need in the zip.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 04:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Richard is so right, It depends 100% on what format your item is in.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 24 October 2012 05:46 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2007-06-17

I’m saving as DS4.5 .duf files.  The objects end up in the My Library/Figures/ *product name* folders and the material files (also .duf) end up in My Library\Presets\Materials\ *product name* folders.

I am copying the data folders as well to be part of my zip file.  Can’t be positive I’m getting all the correct stuff though.  What’s there are a couple .dsf files.  One with the name of the mesh and one named default.


ODD:  Going back to the test system where the product was installed (not created), the error for missing assets is showing a file structure that is not even close to what was created on the original system.  The data folders are completely created by DAZ Studio, yes?  What it is asking for on the test system shows extra levels of folders - ones that were not created and do not exist on the original system. 

Very strange.

 

 Signature 

NSFW (maybe) scotthagel.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 05:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13703
Joined  2003-10-09

Could you post the path from the error?

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 09:27 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2007-06-17

I’m not sure, this morning, that the problem is actually with DS4.  As I investigate the issue, I’m finding that the file structure within My Documents/Daz 3d/Studio isn’t refreshing in real time…

Something strange seems to be going on with my system. 
Once I’ve created the product within DS4, run the “Scan Known Directories for Files…”, then click on the new item and “Browse to File Location” to verify the exact path to the item, that same path isn’t necessarily useable/existent with Windows 7’s explorer.  In other words, going directly from my desktop to the file location isn’t possible.  Not for a while at least. 

Can’t imagine why this is the case.  In all my years of computer use I’ve never seen such an odd issue.  I’m not even sure what triggers the file structure to update.  “Refresh” doesn’t do it. 

I am fairly new to Windows 7.  Is this a known issue within 7?
Very strange.

Edit:  I went straight from typing this to searching for “windows 7 file structure not updating” and wouldn’t you know it, tons of results.  Apparently I am one of the many with this annoying little problem.  Makes it a bit difficult to create a product when you can’t find the folders that DS creates.

More frustration…

 Signature 

NSFW (maybe) scotthagel.com

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 October 2012 12:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  13703
Joined  2003-10-09

Yes, I get that lag when installing content. As you say, it’s very annoying.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 26 October 2012 08:03 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  62
Joined  2007-06-17

Edit:  I had found a partner to work with.  Then they vanished off the face of the earth.  Haven’t decided what to do next.

I would still really like a step-by-step guide on creating a simple prop with a variety of textures.  Free product to whomever can create this and make it easy to follow along.


Have given up on Windows 7 and upgraded to Windows 8.  So far things are going fine.  Minor hiccups here and there.


I have decided to search for a content creation partner.  I am creating terrains with high resolution meshes and textures.  Some examples can be found here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/8131/

I will create the terrains - am looking for someone to turn them into DS and Poser content.  Will happily split the rewards 50/50.
Have any examples of content to share - poser and ds - shoot me a message.

 Signature 

NSFW (maybe) scotthagel.com

Profile