Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 2
2
Studio 4.5 start-up time
Posted: 06 November 2012 01:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2292
Joined  2006-01-19

i use Windows’ magnify utility on a 1920x1200 screen

and i think i observed Daz Studio 4.5 crashes when using it

so that’s something to consider

i also suspect there’s interactions with Window’s display performance-optimization settings

add to the mix, NVidia’s control Panel

i bet that there’s settings that would solve daz studio 4’5's slow start and crashes issues

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 06:05 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  949
Joined  2007-01-04

After the first start of the day or after a reboot DS4.5.0.137 takes 20 seconds to fully power up, and that’s on a Core 2 quad.

So the big question is what are you guys doing that’s different.

I know from experience that if the CMS isn’t running properly that DS4 can take a hell of a long time to start, or never start as it just sits sulking in the task manager. Now I only use the CMS when I’m doing content, it has a couple of functions built in that saves me having to text edit everything later, so I have set it to manaul start in Services.msc, that way it doesn’t “bang heads” with everything else on my PC during start up or a reboot, so for most of the time that I’m using DS4 the CMS isn’t running.

I’ve never had DS set to load a scene at startup, so when DS starts it only has to load it’s plugins (it has less to load than most as I delete the ones I’ll never use) and create the UI, it doesn’t even have to create a camera as I have that turned off too.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 10:21 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2292
Joined  2006-01-19
Bejaymac - 06 November 2012 06:05 AM

. . .  CMS . . .

. . .scene at startup, . . ..


according to tests i made the CMS doesnt seem at fault, i also did tests about the startup scene

just now i used process monitor to see step by step what DS4.5 is doing at startup

i see it do things expected,

but i also see it go through my entire F: drive , which is a data drive, not the system drive

it also seems to repeatedly ( hundreds of times ) set the values of the registry keys in the section

HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\OpenGLDrivers\ATKOGL\

atkogl.dll is an AsusTek OpenGl dll (according to a cursory google search )
—-
it’s not a solution but it may give clues

—-
if i look in DS4.5’s main registry keys i see that many of the default directories ( example the import directory ) point to F:\
which is normal since that’s where i render and import/export the most

—-
so, at this point my hypothesis are,

issues with versions of openGL32.dll
issues with how the nvidia card reports its OpenGL version

the main goal is probably to get DS to NOT want to scan my F:\ drive

i’m closer to the solution i think !


—-

update, i read this in a forum

For others who find this threadASUS installs a custom opengl driver ATKOGL.dll
which is apart of the Asus enhanced display driverthis must be removed via add remove 
programs
when using any driver other then those provided by ASUSeven if you are using
 the same asus card otherwise the OGL subsystem is rendered useless
Profile
 
 
Posted: 06 November 2012 11:23 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2292
Joined  2006-01-19

update :

i uninstalled the Asus Gamer OSD on my PC

it did not resolve the slow DS4.5 starts, but i think it may reduce crashes

i then re-installed recent nvidia drivers ( 6.14.13.681 )

Profile
 
 
Posted: 07 November 2012 05:42 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2292
Joined  2006-01-19

things i did that seem to help

—-

uninstalled the Asus Gamer OSD utility

re-installed the nvidia drivers—i used the “custom installation” option, then check-marked the “clean install” it erases tweaks you may have made, clean slate

for experts: i created a folder named f:\DazIO. Using regedit i changed the following Daz Studio 4 keys to “f:\DazIO”
RenderDir0,ImportDir,ExportDir,ImageOpenDir,ImageSaveDir,VideoExportDir,AudioImportDir,LoadSaveDir,RenderEnd,ImportDir0

i also removed all the annoying start-up programs that accumulated with time, notably the RealTek programs that i often saw conflict with nvidia drivers

—-
instead of 1.5, 2 or more minutes, it now takes 50 seconds to start DS4.5, immediately after a reboot of the PC ,

Subsequent DS4.5 starts take only 7 seconds ( it was already about that fast before )


i suspect the post-re-boot slow-downs are related to things happening in
C:\Documents and Settings\Jacques Phenom\Application Data\NVIDIA\GLCache

 

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 November 2012 09:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Another thing to check, what format the partition that DS is on…I just found that most of my slow start was due to the partition being formatted as Fat32…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 November 2012 09:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2292
Joined  2006-01-19

i upgraded to windows 7 64 bit,  from scratch
and of course there’s no problems anymore,
starting ds4.5 with an empty scene takes 6 seconds
though when i’ll install DS3.1 Advanced side by side
with DS4.5 maybe things will change

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 November 2012 12:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7082
Joined  2005-08-15
Casual - 21 November 2012 09:58 AM

i upgraded to windows 7 64 bit,  from scratch
and of course there’s no problems anymore,
starting ds4.5 with an empty scene takes 6 seconds
though when i’ll install DS3.1 Advanced side by side
with DS4.5 maybe things will change

It shouldn’t do, I have both 32 bit and 64 bit DS3 installed, and my loading times are just a few seconds for 4.5.  They go into different folders from 4.5 anyway, and can be run side by side.

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 2
2