Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
To the pose experts ...
Posted: 22 October 2012 01:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

No it mostly works in memory only affecting the loaded figures in the scene. While it does save files to disk, it doesn’t add them to your library (unless you are converting poses).

I typically use it like this: load a pose, copy it, paste part of it, load another pose, paste part of that one etc. Then I save my scene as usual in Studio. So you’d typically use PoseMaster Copy/Paste in one sitting. If you close down Studio and got to sleep, when you start the next day you’d start using it again fresh with a new set of poses.

However, when you are converting poses (V4 to Genesis, say) those will be added to your library for future use. What you described above is typical mixing & matching, not converting between figures.

Hope this is a bit clearer now?

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 01:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
cridgit - 22 October 2012 01:45 AM

No it mostly works in memory only affecting the loaded figures in the scene. While it does save files to disk, it doesn’t add them to your library (unless you are converting poses).

I typically use it like this: load a pose, copy it, paste part of it, load another pose, paste part of that one etc. Then I save my scene as usual in Studio. So you’d typically use PoseMaster Copy/Paste in one sitting. If you close down Studio and got to sleep, when you start the next day you’d start using it again fresh with a new set of poses.

However, when you are converting poses (V4 to Genesis, say) those will be added to your library for future use. What you described above is typical mixing & matching, not converting between figures.

Hope this is a bit clearer now?

Not really ... lol

I saved the pose presets, but I don’t see how to use the presets. What’s the point of saving them if I can’t use them later?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 02:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07

There are 4 scenario’s you may find yourself in:
1a. You want to convert one pose between figures (only in the current scene)
1b. You want to convert multiple poses between figures (and have the converted poses available in your library for future use).

2a. You want to mix and match multiple poses (only in the current scene).
2b. You want to mix and match multiple poses (and have the combined pose available in your library for future use).

In case 1a you will load both source and target figures into the scene, then load a pose onto the source figure and use PoseMaster Transfer to convert the pose from the source figure to the target figure. It reads the pose of the source figure in Studio and applies it to the target figure in Studio. No poses are saved to the Library. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKKApjYI814 and (there is another video for animated poses).

In case 1b you will load both source and target figures into the scene, then run PoseMaster Batch to convert a whole set of poses. The converted poses are saved as DSA pose presets and available in your Library for future use. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnvEY6Kt7Eo&feature=plcp

In case 2a you will load both source and target figures into the scene, then load the poses you want to combine, each time using PoseMaster Copy and PoseMaster Paste to copy/paste the relevant bits of each pose until you have assembled your final combined pose on the target figure. No poses are saved to the Library. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-qSZ11qglw&feature=plcp

In case 2b you will follow the steps for 2a, then select Save As Pose Preset in Studio - using Studio’s default function for saving poses. The DUF pose preset will be available in your Library for future use.

So PoseMaster allows you to mix and match poses and to convert poses between figures inside Studio (both things Studio does not do). It does not replicate Studio’s built-in ability to save pose presets into your Library*.

* The exception is PoseMaster Batch, which uses Studio’s ability to save pose presets, to automatically transfer many poses between figures (otherwise you would have to do them one by one inside Studio, which could be annoying if you have hundreds of poses).

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 05:41 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1672
Joined  2008-02-14

The Poser Format Exporter can save the partial poses you need.  It’s a free product download.  The product page also includes a tutorial by MattyManx on how to use it.

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/poser-format-exporter-pfe

 Signature 

PUBLISHED ARTIST
First Bastion’s Environments here at Daz

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 09:04 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
cridgit - 22 October 2012 02:15 AM

There are 4 scenario’s you may find yourself in:
1a. You want to convert one pose between figures (only in the current scene)
1b. You want to convert multiple poses between figures (and have the converted poses available in your library for future use).

2a. You want to mix and match multiple poses (only in the current scene).
2b. You want to mix and match multiple poses (and have the combined pose available in your library for future use).

In case 1a you will load both source and target figures into the scene, then load a pose onto the source figure and use PoseMaster Transfer to convert the pose from the source figure to the target figure. It reads the pose of the source figure in Studio and applies it to the target figure in Studio. No poses are saved to the Library. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NKKApjYI814 and (there is another video for animated poses).

In case 1b you will load both source and target figures into the scene, then run PoseMaster Batch to convert a whole set of poses. The converted poses are saved as DSA pose presets and available in your Library for future use. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnvEY6Kt7Eo&feature=plcp

In case 2a you will load both source and target figures into the scene, then load the poses you want to combine, each time using PoseMaster Copy and PoseMaster Paste to copy/paste the relevant bits of each pose until you have assembled your final combined pose on the target figure. No poses are saved to the Library. See http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-qSZ11qglw&feature=plcp

In case 2b you will follow the steps for 2a, then select Save As Pose Preset in Studio - using Studio’s default function for saving poses. The DUF pose preset will be available in your Library for future use.

So PoseMaster allows you to mix and match poses and to convert poses between figures inside Studio (both things Studio does not do). It does not replicate Studio’s built-in ability to save pose presets into your Library*.

* The exception is PoseMaster Batch, which uses Studio’s ability to save pose presets, to automatically transfer many poses between figures (otherwise you would have to do them one by one inside Studio, which could be annoying if you have hundreds of poses).

I’m definitely sold ... I just need to get paid first ... lol. Curious: I see I can transfer poser for genesis to m4/v4, but can I also transfer poser from older generations?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 09:07 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
FirstBastion - 22 October 2012 05:41 AM

The Poser Format Exporter can save the partial poses you need.  It’s a free product download.  The product page also includes a tutorial by MattyManx on how to use it.

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/poser-format-exporter-pfe

Thanks. I’ll check it out.

I thought I followed the directions on how to save my pose now that it’s made, but I can’t seem to be able to utilize the saved pose ... I guess I’m still confused about something.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 09:15 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:04 AM

I see I can transfer poser for genesis to m4/v4, but can I also transfer poser from older generations?


PoseMaster ships with data files for transferring poses between V4/M4 and Genesis (both ways) and there is a new People Pack about to be released which allows transfers between all DAZ figures (see the thread here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9157/).

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 09:24 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
cridgit - 22 October 2012 09:15 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:04 AM

I see I can transfer poser for genesis to m4/v4, but can I also transfer poser from older generations?


PoseMaster ships with data files for transferring poses between V4/M4 and Genesis (both ways) and there is a new People Pack about to be released which allows transfers between all DAZ figures (see the thread here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9157/).

Does PM only work in DS4?

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 09:44 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
Active Member
RankRank
Total Posts:  901
Joined  2009-12-07
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:24 AM
cridgit - 22 October 2012 09:15 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:04 AM

I see I can transfer poser for genesis to m4/v4, but can I also transfer poser from older generations?


PoseMaster ships with data files for transferring poses between V4/M4 and Genesis (both ways) and there is a new People Pack about to be released which allows transfers between all DAZ figures (see the thread here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9157/).

Does PM only work in DS4?


No also in DS3. I wrote it in DS3 and it has been tested and is working in DS4 and DS4.5. I’m busy doing an update as we speak, you can find the details near the end of this thread http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/6445/

 Signature 

PoseMaster for DAZ Studio and PoseMaster People Pack now sold at Rendo.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 09:53 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
cridgit - 22 October 2012 09:44 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:24 AM
cridgit - 22 October 2012 09:15 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:04 AM

I see I can transfer poser for genesis to m4/v4, but can I also transfer poser from older generations?


PoseMaster ships with data files for transferring poses between V4/M4 and Genesis (both ways) and there is a new People Pack about to be released which allows transfers between all DAZ figures (see the thread here http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/9157/).

Does PM only work in DS4?


No also in DS3. I wrote it in DS3 and it has been tested and is working in DS4 and DS4.5. I’m busy doing an update as we speak, you can find the details near the end of this thread http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/6445/

Whew! I was about to be heart broken ... lol. I am a DS3 person. I have DS4, but I don’t use it.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 11:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:07 AM
FirstBastion - 22 October 2012 05:41 AM

The Poser Format Exporter can save the partial poses you need.  It’s a free product download.  The product page also includes a tutorial by MattyManx on how to use it.

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/poser-format-exporter-pfe

Thanks. I’ll check it out.

I thought I followed the directions on how to save my pose now that it’s made, but I can’t seem to be able to utilize the saved pose ... I guess I’m still confused about something.


After you save a pose (full or partial) there are two ways to use it in DS. 

1. Use the Import option to load the pose from the folder you saved it to on to the selected figure.

2. Move the saved pose into your Pose folder.  The one that is in your Poser Runtime Library.

If you are not clear on the whole folder structure, please go here - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5436/

For option 2, there are two ways you can place the pose there.  Either manually or by zipping it up in a Runtime folder structure and installing it like you would any purchased content that comes in a zip file.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 11:34 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:53 AM

I am a DS3 person. I have DS4, but I don’t use it.

Do you have DS4 or DS4.5 ?

I ask cause I myself prefered DS3 over DS4 BUT DS4.5 is so much better then DS4 that I have yet to go back since I upgraded to DS4.5

I also ask because DS4 and DS4.5 render faster then DS3 does so you can do the same work in less tinme.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 11:37 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13
Mattymanx - 22 October 2012 11:30 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:07 AM
FirstBastion - 22 October 2012 05:41 AM

The Poser Format Exporter can save the partial poses you need.  It’s a free product download.  The product page also includes a tutorial by MattyManx on how to use it.

http://www.daz3d.com/shop/poser-format-exporter-pfe

Thanks. I’ll check it out.

I thought I followed the directions on how to save my pose now that it’s made, but I can’t seem to be able to utilize the saved pose ... I guess I’m still confused about something.


After you save a pose (full or partial) there are two ways to use it in DS. 

1. Use the Import option to load the pose from the folder you saved it to on to the selected figure.

2. Move the saved pose into your Pose folder.  The one that is in your Poser Runtime Library.

If you are not clear on the whole folder structure, please go here - http://www.daz3d.com/forums/viewthread/5436/

For option 2, there are two ways you can place the pose there.  Either manually or by zipping it up in a Runtime folder structure and installing it like you would any purchased content that comes in a zip file.

For Option 2..make sure you have an icon with the pose…otherwise you’ll end up with a bunch of the generic icons.  That means make sure you move the pose file and its associated png, if one was generated.  If one wasn’t…make one.  For DS3 that means a 91x91 square png render…

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 11:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1410
Joined  2010-03-15
Mattymanx - 22 October 2012 11:34 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:53 AM

I am a DS3 person. I have DS4, but I don’t use it.

Do you have DS4 or DS4.5 ?

I ask cause I myself prefered DS3 over DS4 BUT DS4.5 is so much better then DS4 that I have yet to go back since I upgraded to DS4.5

I also ask because DS4 and DS4.5 render faster then DS3 does so you can do the same work in less tinme.

I prefer DS3, also.

I saved the files in my pose runtime, but I can’t see them. I’ll try again.

 Signature 

Aidana WillowRaven
website: http://WillowRaven.weebly.com ~ blog: http://willowraven-illustration.blogspot.com/
I ask for so little. Just fear me, love me, do as I say and I will be your slave.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 22 October 2012 11:49 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  2865
Joined  2004-04-14
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 11:38 AM
Mattymanx - 22 October 2012 11:34 AM
AidanaWillowRaven - 22 October 2012 09:53 AM

I am a DS3 person. I have DS4, but I don’t use it.

Do you have DS4 or DS4.5 ?

I ask cause I myself prefered DS3 over DS4 BUT DS4.5 is so much better then DS4 that I have yet to go back since I upgraded to DS4.5

I also ask because DS4 and DS4.5 render faster then DS3 does so you can do the same work in less tinme.

I prefer DS3, also.

I saved the files in my pose runtime, but I can’t see them. I’ll try again.


In DS3, you need to refresh your runtime.

Go to ‘Edit > Preferences’ then on the window that comes up go to the Directories tab, click on Advanced, then click on Accept in the smaller window and then clikc accept on the preferences window and that should hopefully do it.

If that does not work, double check that you are following the Runtime structure properly.  For example…

Runtime > Libraries > Pose > Folder name of choice

Folder names in Red must be followed or it will not show up.

 Signature 

My DAZ3D Store
My Free Stuff
My Art @ DeviantART
Ships of the Line - MEGA THREAD
How to use the Poser Format Exporter - **Updated 2013-02-09**

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2