Digital Art Zone

 
     
ds4.5 pro 64 bit - possible to reduce utilization of cpu during rendering in hq?
Posted: 21 October 2012 05:20 PM   [ Ignore ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29

hello, is it possible to reduce the cpu utilization during rendering in HQ but keeping the quality?

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 05:34 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8977
Joined  2007-11-06

You can set Priority to low or set an Affinity to specific cores.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 05:52 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29
fixmypcmike - 21 October 2012 05:34 PM

You can set Priority to low or set an Affinity to specific cores.

but it is not possible to lower the priority for the whole scene? I know I can lower the priority for single items but is it possible to do it for the whole scene?

 Signature  Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 06:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6730
Joined  2005-08-15

Mike is talking about the Task manager for Windows.  reduce the Priority when you have the DAZ Studio process selected.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 06:08 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1500
Joined  2010-06-29
JimmyC_2009 - 21 October 2012 06:00 PM

Mike is talking about the Task manager for Windows.  reduce the Priority when you have the DAZ Studio process selected.

ahhhhhhhh, okay, my fault smile

 Signature 

Samples of my renders by cosmo


Every day is your day - not the day of other people - So live your life, not the lifes of others and enjoy it

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 07:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

But why?

Yeah, it will keep the quality but it will dramatically increase the time it takes to do the render.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 08:06 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8977
Joined  2007-11-06
mjc1016 - 21 October 2012 07:50 PM

But why?

Yeah, it will keep the quality but it will dramatically increase the time it takes to do the render.

Sometimes you need to be able to do other things on your computer, even if the render takes longer.

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile