Digital Art Zone

 
     
Hexagon has no torus primitive?
Posted: 21 October 2012 10:20 AM   [ Ignore ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-02-02

I see a sculptie torus but there is no regular primitive torus?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 10:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20

why would you need one? Make a circle and thicken it. Simples.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 10:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6664
Joined  2005-08-15

No there isn’t one that I can see.

You can send the DS one to Hex using the bridge though.

EDIT:
Of course Ascania, it’s been a while since I used Hex.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 11:40 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  14
Joined  2012-02-02

Thanks! A torus primitive seems standard for most modelers but tori aren’t that commonly used so manufacturing one is good enough.

Always a balance between too many or too complex tools and too few.  I could draw pictures in dirt with my fingers so why do I need Hexagon or pencils? I’d like to see more abilities built in to the primitives in Hexagon but so far I like its tool set. It doesn’t need four million tools to do what a good set of a few can. Like you said, circle, thickness, easy.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 12:07 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4545
Joined  2007-09-13

A true torus primitive is not the same thing as a thickened circle…the faces are different.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 12:55 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

A torus would be a circle swept around another circle.

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 02:48 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  271
Joined  2005-08-20
mjc1016 - 21 October 2012 12:07 PM

A true torus primitive is not the same thing as a thickened circle…the faces are different.

Hexagon does not deal in ‘true’ primitives at all. All its primitives are approximated through vertex objects. So it makes no difference, the end result would be the same either way.

 Signature 

*Sigh* Window->Tabs->Tool Settings->Draw Style->Manipulation: Off
Yeah. It’s like that.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 12:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2008-11-04

I guess I’m weird - I use torus-es (or “tori” would be the plural) - but I have to go to Bryce to use them smile

Can you export tori from Bryce to Hex?

 Signature 

“We probably wouldn’t worry about what people think of us if we could know how seldom they do.”
Mark Twain

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 01:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6664
Joined  2005-08-15

Not directly.

But you could try the OBJ format?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 02:11 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2008-11-04
JimmyC_2009 - 29 October 2012 01:22 PM

Not directly.

But you could try the OBJ format?

What a PITA - and tori are so cool…

 Signature 

“We probably wouldn’t worry about what people think of us if we could know how seldom they do.”
Mark Twain

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 02:24 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2008-11-04

But then, most of the time I use tori is for complex booleans, and booleans don’t seem to be needed/encouraged as much in most modeling programs like Hex.

Seems to me, anyway…

 Signature 

“We probably wouldn’t worry about what people think of us if we could know how seldom they do.”
Mark Twain

Profile
 
 
Posted: 29 October 2012 04:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  14324
Joined  2003-10-09

Booleans in most modelling applications make actual changes to the geometry, and are apt to produce bad topology that can be hard to modify and can easily throw render artefacts. Bryce’s Booleans are render-time only and so not subject to the same problems (modo has just gained a similar function, so Bryce was ahead of the pack in this).

 Signature 

DAZ Studio Frequently Asked Questions

Index of free DAZ Studio scripts and plugins list

Profile
 
 
Posted: 30 October 2012 08:26 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  142
Joined  2008-11-04
Richard Haseltine - 29 October 2012 04:18 PM

Booleans in most modelling applications make actual changes to the geometry, and are apt to produce bad topology that can be hard to modify and can easily throw render artefacts. Bryce’s Booleans are render-time only and so not subject to the same problems (modo has just gained a similar function, so Bryce was ahead of the pack in this).

Good to know - So, exporting a boolean-created object from Bryce into, for example, Hex, wouldn’t work?

 Signature 

“We probably wouldn’t worry about what people think of us if we could know how seldom they do.”
Mark Twain

Profile