Digital Art Zone

 
     
Textures Not Showing In Viewport
Posted: 20 October 2012 05:48 PM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2006-07-16

Does anyone know which settings I can change for Daz Stduio 4.x so that when an OBJ/MTL model is imported the textures will show in the viewport applied to the prop?  I know the texture colors and images are read by DS because they show up in the Render.

In the images below, you can see that the sphere and plane import but the textures are not shown in the viewport.  However, a quick render reveals that they have been loaded with the model.

Image Attachments
DS4_Settings1.jpgDS4_Settings2.png
 Signature 

Visit Our Web Site
Visit Our DAZ Store
View All Posts by RoLoW

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:02 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
New Member
Avatar
Total Posts:  20
Joined  2012-10-20

Did you check the “Surfaces” tab to see if the textures are loaded?

 Signature 

I’m an Asian girl who likes 3D art LOL

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:22 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  9615
Joined  2007-11-06

Make sure the viewport is set to Texture Shaded:

Image Attachments
texture_shaded.jpg
 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ
Tutorial: Adding Surfaces in DS
Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:40 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2006-07-16

That did it!  I’m still trying to get comfortable with DS4.x and just didn’t see the drawstyle icon in the upper-right corner.  Thanks for both of your assistance.

Image Attachments
screenshot.1_.jpg
 Signature 

Visit Our Web Site
Visit Our DAZ Store
View All Posts by RoLoW

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 01:01 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  4524
Joined  2007-09-13

Unfortunately Smooth Shaded, Texture Shaded and Cartoon Shaded look similar enough that a quick glance at the icon often isn’t enough to tell what it’s set to.  The wire and bounding box modes are pretty eas to tw.

 Signature 

1432 old posts

My ShareCG gallery.

Just because something costs a lot, doesn’t mean it’s the best…

It just means it’s expensive.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 21 October 2012 07:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  227
Joined  2006-07-16

DS4!  So much to learn, so little time.  I always try to remember that not everyone has moved up yet.
Hope this reference image can help someone, I know it will help me the next time my memory lapses.

Image Attachments
Viewport_Preview_Mode.png
 Signature 

Visit Our Web Site
Visit Our DAZ Store
View All Posts by RoLoW

Profile