Digital Art Zone

 
   
2 of 3
2
Bug in DAZ 4.5: Adding Camera Crashes Daz
Posted: 03 December 2012 10:33 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 16 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-11-28

Reset the PRAM but it had no effect on the problem. Reset the PRAM a second time and it again had no effect on the problem.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 10:56 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 17 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1094
Joined  2003-12-16

Okay, I drew this up for anything mac but it’s written with Studio in mind.
This may not necessarily fix anything, but it’s a pretty straightforward attempt to clear most software anomalies that are not limitations of the software (e.g. bugs), part of the issue is some mac users can reproduce this, some can’t and it seems to be a 10.7 DS 4.5 issue exclusively, so I don’t think it’s user, I think it’s software. In the mean time you can try these steps, I won’t promise you anything and take some care if you decide to remove the preference files (you can drop them on the desktop and leave yourself a note where they go if you do some irreparable damage but that is highly unlikely.)

Image Attachments
index.jpg
 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 11:58 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 18 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-11-28

Thanks very much for the flowchart! I’ve dutifully run from one end to the other and found that nothing changed (I deleted preferences, repaired permissions, my account is an admin, rebooted between steps, etc.). And just to be clear, I’m not running 10.7. I’m running 10.8.2.

So then, looks like it’s time for the martini (since I already have the vodka).

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 12:42 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 19 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-11-28

Some additional information:

This is from the crash report in the Mac Console (User Diagnostic Reports). The problem is DAZStudio is accessing an invalid address. Not likely something that can be fixed by the user.

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000404020000009

VM Regions Near 0x404020000009:
  __LINKEDIT         0000000200e5d000-0000000200eb3000 [  344K] r—/rwx SM=COW /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/GeForceGLDriver

SIGSEGV - Signal segmentation violation
KERN = Kernel

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 02:41 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 20 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1094
Joined  2003-12-16
terisa - 03 December 2012 12:42 PM

Some additional information:

This is from the crash report in the Mac Console (User Diagnostic Reports). The problem is DAZStudio is accessing an invalid address. Not likely something that can be fixed by the user.

Exception Type:  EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000404020000009

VM Regions Near 0x404020000009:
  __LINKEDIT         0000000200e5d000-0000000200eb3000 [  344K] r—/rwx SM=COW /System/Library/Extensions/GeForceGLDriver.bundle/Contents/MacOS/GeForceGLDriver

SIGSEGV - Signal segmentation violation
KERN = Kernel

I’m reading 10.8.2 may have broken something with the nVidia drivers.
Did this happen in 10.8.1 do you know?

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 03 December 2012 02:50 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 21 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2012-11-28
StratDragon - 03 December 2012 02:41 PM

I’m reading 10.8.2 may have broken something with the nVidia drivers.
Did this happen in 10.8.1 do you know?

I’m afraid I don’t. I started using DAZ after installing 10.8.2. I’ll check on the nVidia drivers.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 04 December 2012 08:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 22 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1094
Joined  2003-12-16

10.8.2 is the most current version of the Mac OS for any Intel equipt mac made after 2008-2009 or so.
If you bought your system in the last few months you may no be able to use anything but 10.8.2 until 10.8.3 comes out. Developers just got the 10.8.3. beta a few days ago so I’m thinking before then end of the year Apple will make this public. If your computer was purchased and had something less than 10.8.2 thats the baseline of what you can downgrade to, but (a) will a downgrade fix the problem? (b) will a downgrade break something else? (c) can you live with this problem now and is there another workaround? and (d) do you really want to downgrade even if it does fix the problem?

Can anyone establish if this behavior happens outside of 10.8.2?

Did you try making a new account with administrative rights?
Try that, boot into that account, fix permissions and launch DS and see if that works (and have nothing selected when you make the camera)

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 05 December 2012 10:16 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 23 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1094
Joined  2003-12-16

what if you had an empty scene with just the camera, save that scene and merge the scene when you need a camera? It sound like a PITA but it might be better than crashing.

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
Posted: 18 December 2012 02:19 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 24 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2004-09-16

Had this exact same issue on a Mac and I made sure that nothing was selected in the window, went up to the Created drop down at the top created a camera that way, renamed it My Camera 1 , 2 , 3 what ever number .. then said yes to both using the viewport as the set up not, seems to work every time. 

Seems like if you bypass the lights and camera step and just use the drop down create at the top , fixes the issues on my Mac running the newest operating system . Hope this helps ..

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2012 05:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 25 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-12-03

Hi, I am new to DAZ and just trying it out. Just to let you know, on my old system, using DAZ 4.5 32bit on an IMac using MAC OSX 10.5, DAZ also crashes when I load a camera. I’ll see if I can use some of the workarounds offered on the board, or I will try to find one myself. I’ll try to keep you posted if i figure something out.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 25 December 2012 05:18 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 26 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  2
Joined  2012-12-03

Hi again, tried Great Scott’s approach and it works. That is, go to the top menu bar and click on Create and from the drop down menu, choose new camera.

For me adding a camera, even with nothing in the scene, would crash the program, but using the top menu bar (above the interface window) I can put in as many cameras as I want and it does not crash, so it seems like it is a bug in the interface.

Anyway, thanks Great Scott

Profile
 
 
Posted: 14 January 2013 10:30 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 27 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  1
Joined  2012-11-26

Thanx alexewen now I also can on with my work, hope they soon fix this.

Br. jens

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 11:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 28 ]
New Member
Total Posts:  7
Joined  2003-10-09

Thanks Scott. This solved my problem as well.  Daz needs to fix this bug.

Regards,

Robert H.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 01:47 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 29 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7778
Joined  2009-05-14

Are you sure it is Daz Studio that needs fixing? How many here with this issue have Intel Graphics chips? Which have been notorious for issues like this in the PC for years. Then you have the MAC issue stated above

StratDragon - 03 December 2012 02:41 PM

I’m reading 10.8.2 may have broken something with the nVidia drivers.

and just a few that have posted this issue which doesn’t seem to set a president that DAZ STudio is at fault. If it is then I will hold my hands up but I can’t find any Bug reports on this yet.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 09 April 2013 02:09 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 30 ]
Power Member
Avatar
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  1094
Joined  2003-12-16

10.8.3 is out but other than Apple claiming stability fixes I don’t see the graphic drivers have changed.
For all you windows users out there new video drivers for Mac are strictly direct to apple download only with a few exceptions will you ever find Mac drivers on the manufactures website.

 Signature 

Gravy to potatoes, Luke to Darth Vader, I’m a souped up sucker and I’ll see you all later

Profile
 
 
   
2 of 3
2