Digital Art Zone

 
     
Applying A3 texture on Genesis [solved]
Posted: 20 October 2012 05:34 AM   [ Ignore ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2008-08-24

I’m trying to apply the Kirei no Kanjou for Aiko 3.0 texture to Genesis but it doesn’t seem to be working. I have GenX, A3 Iconic Shapes and I even got TextureConverter but I can’t seem to use the converter right.

When I convert kirei and try to apply it using the Surfaces tab it gets messed up. I put the converted mat as a Diffuse map. Is this correct?

Does anyone know of any tutorial on how to convert/apply A4 textures into Genesis?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 05:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7920
Joined  2009-05-14

In the Surfaces Pane what is the Uvmapping set to? If all went well you should have a A3 option to choose. If you have this option then choose A3 and look for the little padlock beside the UVmap channel and Lock it. This will ensure it doesn’t slip of. If you want to change the textures then you will have to unlock the Uvmapping.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:12 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2008-08-24

I don’t see A3 under UV set. I see V4, M4, Genesis M/F and The Kids. Where do I get the A3 UV Set?

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04

You wont find it, Gen 3 textures don’t work on Genesis, you would need to use something Texture Converter to turn them into a Gen 4 texture.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7920
Joined  2009-05-14
Bejaymac - 20 October 2012 06:20 AM

You wont find it, Gen 3 textures don’t work on Genesis, you would need to use something Texture Converter to turn them into a Gen 4 texture.

What even with GenX for A3…humm that is news to me, thanks. So it is only for Clothing and morphs then, not textures.

Sorry about the incorrect info, my bad. I don’t bother with GenX anymore but I thought it did texture maps too.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 07:52 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  921
Joined  2007-01-04

AFAIK GenX is just for transferring morphs from one figure to another (I only have the old Gen4), to get Gen 3 maps to fit Genesis would require a remap of the UV’s but it would also need the Surface Groups in Genesis to be redone to match the Gen 3 Material Zones, and this can only be done with a second Genesis as those changes can only be stored in the main figure DSF, so do that to the main Genesis and you wont be able to use any of the Gen 4 or Gen 5 textures any more.

 Signature 

**shuffles of with a new headache** tongue wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 07:54 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7920
Joined  2009-05-14

So we can’t use Map Transfer then to do the job?

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 08:51 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  8680
Joined  2007-11-06

No, UVMap switching can’t change the material zones, just which vertices get assigned to each zone, so it doesn’t work for Gen 3 textures.  When you tried Texture Converter 2, were you converting A3 to V4?

 Signature 

PostgreSQL CMS FAQ

Product Updates: Non-Genesis/G2 DIM Zips starting July 2013
Non-Genesis Items with Metadata
Plugin Version Numbers for DS 4.5
Updated Genesis Products

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 09:00 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Administrator
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  16477
Joined  2009-01-22

Darn you Mike you beat me. Convert your A3 textures to V4 then they will load on genesis.

 Signature 

Exile, Drows Walk: A Tale of Jaderail starts here. Free pulp fiction at its Fantasy best, Updated 2/3/14.
Proud Member of the Bald Wizards Club My stuff at DeviantArt

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 09:29 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Member
Rank
Total Posts:  26
Joined  2008-08-24

Ok. I got it to work. Thanks guys!

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 09:55 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7920
Joined  2009-05-14

Interesting stuff. I don’t have A3 and Texture Converter hence me asking questions.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread and Tutorials

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 23 October 2012 02:49 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Member
Avatar
Rank
Total Posts:  215
Joined  2006-09-05

Does it had the eyebrows mapped on the skin texture too? Genesis does not have them…

 Signature 

http://mcmxc2.deviantart.com

Profile