Digital Art Zone

 
   
1 of 2
1
Just add subdivision…
Posted: 19 October 2012 02:56 PM   [ Ignore ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07

These are some simple control meshes made in Cinema 4D.

Just add subdivision and a texture.

 

download all these Object files from this: shared folder

These are completely license free, you can do whatever you want with them.

 

...a teapot and seperate lid

Image Attachments
teapot_stages.png
 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 02:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07

...an airbed.

download link in first post

these are untouched renders from DS

Image Attachments
airbed1.png
 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 03:00 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07

...a nice mug of tea (with a meniscus!)

download link in first post

Image Attachments
mug.png
 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 03:21 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 3 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6187
Joined  2005-08-15

Thanks prixat, but here’s what I get when I visit the link?

This item might not exist or is no longer available

This item might have been deleted, expired or you might not have permission to view it. Contact the owner of this item for more information.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 03:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 4 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07

Thanks for letting me know.

I’ve re-done the link, can you try the new one?

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 03:58 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 5 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6187
Joined  2005-08-15

That is perfect now, thank you very much.

I just grabbed them all while I was there.

Thanks again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 04:45 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 6 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7603
Joined  2009-05-14

Nice modelling and use of SubD. What level are these subdivided at in Daz Studio, 1?

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 19 October 2012 05:54 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 7 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07
Szark - 19 October 2012 04:45 PM

...What level are these subdivided at in Daz Studio, 1?

That’s a weird thing about DS.

The ‘Subdivision level’ only affects the viewport display. (What Cinema 4D calls the Editor subdivision)

The ‘Resolution level’ seems to be what you’re thinking of and what C4D calls the Render Subdivision.
That only offers “Base” = OFF or “High” = ON.

Judging from another model I experimented with, DS has that fixed at 3 and not accessible from Parameters.

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 04:06 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 8 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7603
Joined  2009-05-14

In Daz Studio the resolution of the subdivision can be adjusted but the default is 1 when appling SubD. The highest at default is 2 but it can be unlocked to go higher than 2 but lets face it who would want to go higher than 2 for most things.

SubD can be adjusted from the Parameters Pane under Mesh Resolution after the SubD command has be applied so I am not sure I understand.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 04:45 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 9 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6187
Joined  2005-08-15

There is something not right about this SubD.  If I select to SubD an item, I can change the Resolution level to ‘High’, and then set the Division Level to 0,1 or 2, which shows me the result in the Viewport, but it renders exactly the same no matter what Division Level I use.

So, does that mean that it always renders at the highest res possible, and the Levels are only for the OpenGL viewport display?

Also, the Scene Info pane does not reflect any changes to sub-division, it always displays the bas resolution of the mesh, no matter if I deselect and reselct the item, or even close and reopen the pane.  Surely that should state the correct number of faces and verts that the object now has?

Just my thoughts, but as usual, I may be wrong wink

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 05:38 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 10 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7603
Joined  2009-05-14

I think I am correct in saying that subdivision occurs at render, so in the scene info pane we only see the base mesh even though we do get to see the subdidved mesh in the viewport. You can see this better by changing to Wireframe view.

And depending on the base mesh resolution you may not see much diffrence between 1 and 2 even at render.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:20 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 11 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  6187
Joined  2005-08-15

Thanks Pete, I dimly remember something in the past about this.  The different res levels are shown in the viewport as you say, but it does not matter at all what the veiwport is set to, the renderer always uses the highest possible res available, i.e. Level 2.

You are correct about the the Scene info pane as well.  It is not updated because SubD is a function of the render engine, and not the viewport, in much the same way as shaders are displayed, but only take on their true attributes when rendered.

Thanks again.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:31 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 12 ]
Addict
Avatar
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  7603
Joined  2009-05-14

No problem Jimmy as always. I must admit doing this job brings forward a lot of info that got pushed to the back of my mind.

 Signature 

Pete

Somethings to Consider when starting to learn CG

My Gallery

My Render Thread

Proud member of the Bald Wizards Club and Co-operative

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 06:48 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 13 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07

Sally Mae suddenly remembered…. her right leg!

In a bathtub with water and seperate material zones.

link in first post

Image removed

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 07:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 14 ]
Power Member
RankRankRank
Total Posts:  2322
Joined  2011-11-16

Thank you for the models, will be interesting to play with. I just noticed you didn’t attach any license information. Also, was wondering what you rendered the sample pictures in (renderer, lighting & textures.)

 Signature 

Just because I may have a strong opinion doesn’t make it any more (or less) correct than any other, just that I feel passionately a particular way at that moment.

Profile
 
 
Posted: 20 October 2012 07:28 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 15 ]
Active Member
Avatar
RankRank
Total Posts:  331
Joined  2004-04-07

Thanks, I’ll edit the first post and add some licence info there.

All the renders are directly (no postwork) from the latest DAZ Studio using the built-in Uberenvironment. GI bounce with a big square Area Light for the teapot and mug. For the others I replaced the Area Light with a distant light. The settings are not especially high but it still took about 40 minutes for the last one!

The last one used the free Bruuna texture on Genesis Basic Female.

The textures on the actual objects are just a few minutes of messing about with the Surfaces tab.

 Signature 

regards
prixat

Profile
 
 
   
1 of 2
1