Vue v Bryce

tdrdtdrd Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

OK I am a newbie so give me some air folks.

I have so far spent two days on Bryce and the same on the trial ov Vue and here are my observations so far.

I find the interface on Vue is a little confucing whereas Bryce "appears" (and I use that word carefully) a bit basic.

It is easier to sculpt the landscape in Vue (for the beginner) and I think the developers of Bryce should make it a bit easier to sculpt the landscape.

I wanted to start with a hillside and simply carve an inclining road up it, to see if it could cope and I ended up slicing the hill either in two or the road was so coarse it looked like a set of steps.

I raised a challenge in a recent post but no-one took it up so I guess it's either too difficult to expect a beginner to do it or it's not possible.

WHAT I LOVE IN VUE is the simplicity of moving the camera round the scene. You can move the camera partially around the other side and even rest it within the scene itself. Now Maybe I am missing something but I was told you cannot invent a large worldscape and plop the camera within the scene in Bryce.

THAT all said I am unemployed at the moment and my budget does not really extend to purchasing a product like Vue. I do have funds available to purchase addons to a free product but not to have to buy the product first and then some.

So. I'll probably get shot down for this, but to me Brycce still has room for improvement. Mainly in the crashes area and the modelling area.
I have a quad core 3.4Ghz PC with 4Gb of RAM and it still crashes on me without warning...

I'll welcome any comments on this as I am still appraising the two to determine if Bryce can do what I want.

I'm told it can but I still have to have someone prove it to me.

I'll raise a challenge in a seperate post and would love to see what Bryce users can make of the scene. I'd love to see what renders people can make of it.

Comments

• bighbigh Posts: 8,147