Help needed on massive landscape

edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

I will admit that I'm a bit of a noob dealing with Bryce. I'm trying to develop a relatively accurate representation of a coastal area with offshore islands. The area is massive (1024 sq km), but the LOD is important to the scenes.

What is the best method of creating the landscape for use in a self-directed app that includes fly-overs, views from shore and views from sea? Take into consideration that 58% of the landscape is ocean with land backing the shore and sea backing the islands. Cliffs, a range of slopes and inland volcanic lakes are all part of the landscape.

I'm not asking much, but HALP!!!

Comments

• HoroHoro Posts: 10,111
    edited December 1969

Bryce can import DEMs (digital elevation maps). Just find the appropriate one on the Internet. Bryce can also use PGMs (portable greyscale maps), also many free on the Internet. High resolution ones usually are not free. You can also draw the height map in a graphics application. Black is low, white high. It is important to save the height map as 16-bit greyscale TIFF (not 16-bit color).

• edited December 1969

Horo said:
    Bryce can import DEMs (digital elevation maps). Just find the appropriate one on the Internet. Bryce can also use PGMs (portable greyscale maps), also many free on the Internet. High resolution ones usually are not free. You can also draw the height map in a graphics application. Black is low, white high. It is important to save the height map as 16-bit greyscale TIFF (not 16-bit color).

I have ASCs, DEMs, BILs, TINs, TGAs, BTs, PGMs, BMPs, JPEGs, plus another 32 formats available. That still doesn't answer the question. Based on most of the tutorial recommendations, I have between 64 and 256 segments to consolidate into a cohesive landscape.