Question about ambient occlusion

rpm45rpm45 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

Is there any way to get ambient occlusion using only Daz Studio's built-in surfaces, lights, and cameras? Some sort of 3delight render script, maybe, or a setting I missed on a camera? I'm very new to DS so I'll be surprised if I'm not just missing something. :)

So far the only ways I've found to get AO in a scene involve changing object surfaces, or using lights that support AO. Yes, the (excellent) included UberSurface and UberEnvironment from OmniFreaker do this, so that's one option. But I really like being able to see (at least approximately) what I'm doing when I adjust lights and such, and the UberStuff is pure software-render only. And I don't really want to go through and re-surface every object and figure I use in a scene.

(I don't expect to see AO live in the workspace; I'm just talking about the basic lighting intensity, colour, etc.)

Thanks for your help!
-R.

Comments

• Joe CotterJoe Cotter Posts: 3,259
    edited December 1969

rpm45 said:
    ...Some sort of 3delight render script...

Render script, ie during render, as in not in workspace. To answer the original question, afaik no, aoc is render only.

• rpm45rpm45 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thanks, but that's not quite what I'm looking for. I figured AO would only be done at render time. I'm asking whether it's possible to have a scene rendered with ambient occlusion when I'm only using DS-standard lights and surfaces (no UberStuff).

• BejaymacBejaymac Posts: 1,838
    edited December 1969

No, the default surface shader & lights don't have AO, the only way is 3rd party shaders like Omnifreakers or with the built in Shader Mixer

edited December 1969

rpm45 said:
    ... But I really like being able to see (at least approximately) what I'm doing when I adjust lights and such, and the UberStuff is pure software-render only. -R.