Best Way to Alter / Lighten Figure Skin Color?

GhoulsbyGhoulsby Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in New Users

I just started working with CG and Daz3D and I was wondering what was the best way to alter skin color. Specifically, I'd like to make Genesis and Victoria 5 skin color lighter.

Currently, I've just been changing the color values for "Diffuse Color" and increasing (sometimes beyond 100%) the value for "Diffuse Strength." However, honestly, I don't have any real understanding of what diffuse color/strength is or how it works so I don't know if this is the right way to do this.

Does anyone know or could anyone point me to a guide on how to do something like this? I also have photoshop, so if it is possible to just edit the texture file and re-save it I could do that too, but I've never done something like that before and I don't want to accidentally mess up the original files I paid for.

Thanks for all the help in advance!

Comments

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Both ways work. To create a version in PS only work from Copies of the texture files and be sure you save with a different name. Then just swap your files for the Default files in the Surfaces Tab and then save a new Materials file when your done.

Hope this helps, the New Mat File also works with just changing the Diffuse Colors.

• Hi, can anyone answer the same question (how to alter skin tone color) only with Daz and NOT PS? I'm not sure how to make skin color lighter as the diffuse setting is absolute white and set at %100. Help please!

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001

There's only so much that can be done without resorting to an image editor to alter the base maps.  Post a screenshot of your surface settings and render (can be a partial) of what you are currently getting...and a description of what you want.