Modeling & Shader Questions: Texture Test Scene

circular05circular05 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

My questions about this scene I just created (attached):

1. I created the table / base object in Cheetah 3D and then exported to Carrara, because I couldn't figure out how to model it in Carrara (Carrara beginner here). What's the best way to create an "L" shape with a curved corner inside Carrara?

2. I applied the wire shader to make the grid, but I guess since I've applied it to a bent object, the shader doesn't look right (see blurred horizontal line across the top). I want a consistent grid across the entire object. How can I apply a consistent grid texture now that the object is already bent?

3. Are there any pre-made objects like photo studio props I can use to create reflections, or should I make them myself? (Example: Photo studio umbrella reflector)

Thanks!

Comments

• JoeMamma2000JoeMamma2000 Posts: 2,615
    edited August 2012

Holy cow !!! I'm almost speechless !!!

Dude, I'm very impressed. First time (at least in my recollection) anyone has ever even mentioned a cyc here. You must be a photographer. Cool.

Anyway, personally I think the Carrara modeller sucks. I hate it. Only use it when I have a gun to my head.

In any case, since you put a gun to my head, I'd first start out by inserting a vertex object cube, with definition of 1. Then delete all the polygons that don't look like a cyc. Then select the edge at the base where you want the cyc to curve and select Fillet, and crank the radius up to 20 or so and also the range up to give a nice curve.

Now that you have a cyc shape, you'll need to UV map it. If you don't know what that is, I'll let someone else explain.