Input on a possible Cover Design

BrotherloboBrotherlobo Posts: 495
edited December 1969 in Art Studio

Greetings all. I would like to get some input/feedback on my latest idea for a cover design.

This is primarily planned for an eBook novella (shorter than a novel but longer than a short story) featuring one of the sidekick characters from my Sci Fi novel 'The Last Spartan: Different Paths.' I'm putting the finishing touches on this story before it goes to editors and test readers next week.

Since I am a self-published author with limited funds, I've had to create my own cover designs. The first cover below, was the one I created in Photoshop using purchased items from Dreamstime. It is for my novel which came out in March (how I wish I had found DAZ back then). The cover isnt perfect but then, I wasn't using DAZ and had to cobble it together. I might re-work this cover soon but atm it is still selling well. And as the old saying goes, if it isn't broke, don't touch it.

The second one, 'The Last Spartan: DJ's Tale' is the new cover. Looking for input and suggestions for it.

Thanks.

Comments

• tsaristtsarist Posts: 1,606
    edited December 1969

Hello A.E

I like the first cover.
    In The second cover, the characters don't stand out. They are too dark and blend in so much they really don't catch my eye.

If you want, PM me. I can make a nice cover for you and won't charge you (especially if I have what I need already on my computer).
    Yep. Free.
    All I ask is you give me credit for the work.

• KhoryKhory Posts: 3,854
    edited December 1969

I think that it would be more compelling if the characters popped more. A bit brighter lighting and a bit more specularity on their armor. You could also pull the moon and the fighters in a bit closer to brighten the overall cover.

Since it looks like this is a part of a series I'd also suggest you use the same font and text layout. Perhaps without the shadows since the cover is not as bright color wise.