lost translation controls

hiker_1hiker_1 Posts: 0

i'm not a developer, but this seems like a developer question.

i have a prop purchased at rendo... but when loaded into DS it loses some of the translation controls. (i'm using DS4.0)

the prop is basically a building, and the developer re-labeled "Yrot" to be "roatate" and that control shows and works.

i also get the scale control which seems to work.

the only other conrol is some kind of custom thing that moves the object diagonally from NW to SW ....

how can i edit the file (pp2?) to restore the normal controls?

TIA

:8

Post edited by hiker_1 on

Comments

• SzarkSzark Posts: 10,634
    edited August 2012

The easiest method could be just to load a NULL object Parenting the Building to the Null and move the Null. Moving the Null will move the Building.

DS4 has an Icon to create a NULL object or on the top menu bar "Create > New Null. If you select the Building before you create a NULL you can Parent the Building to the Null when you create the new Null. All will come clear when you try this.........I hope. :)

Post edited by Szark on
  • Richard HaseltineRichard Haseltine Posts: 96,815
    edited December 1969

Moved to Nuts n Bolts - Developer Discussions is for DAZ Studio scripting.

Do you have a link to the prop? Have you tried right-clicking on the Parameters pane's tab and from the menu selecting Show Hidden Properties?

• hiker_1hiker_1 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

that worked great... now... how can i see the null so that i can move it to the center of the prop.... making x/z trasforms is no problem... but it sure sould help with rotations to have the null in the center.....

sorry to sound so ignorant, but i've never used nulls in DS before...

thanks!

edited December 1969

Hey don't sweat it we are all learners we all have to start somewhere.