Merging 2 primitive objects?

quickxoticaquickxotica Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in The Commons

Hi,

Is it possible to merge two primitive objects into a single object so that they can both be assigned as a single collision item to nearby clothing? I ask because we are limited to assigning only a single collision item, and I have created an seat that is made of several primitives and I would like to be able to get clothing to collide with more than one surface of it.

DS4Pro. Win 7 64-bit.

Thanks!

Comments

• TimmothTimmoth Posts: 108
    edited December 1969

I'm not an expert but I think not. You'd probably need something like Hexagon for that.
    You could try creating an invisible primitive around all the others and have that as the collision object?
    Of course the shape wouldn't match exactly though...

• JimmyC_2009JimmyC_2009 Posts: 8,891
    edited December 1969

You could try parenting the two objects to a 'Null' (Create > New Null) and selecting the null object is the same as selecting both of the primitives. It is the same idea as Timmoth's suggestion, but easier to work with.

• Miss BMiss B Posts: 3,071
    edited December 1969

Actually Jimmy, creating a Null, by default, sets it at 0,0,0, but that's most likely not where the 2 primitives are, so if I were to try something like this with a Null, I'd create the Null, position it to near (or possibly surround) the primitives and THEN parent the primitives to the Null. Otherwise the Null could be sitting "down on the floor" so to speak, and the primitives could be slightly higher, over to the left or right, or further back, from where the Null is, and I'm not sure if that would produce the desired effect.

• MattymanxMattymanx Posts: 6,878
    edited December 1969

Save the primative out as a OBJ, tell DS to weld them together. Then import it back into the scene.

There are several ways to do it:

- have just the desired items in your scene and do the export.