What exactly is UberEnvironment2? . . . and other lighting stuff.

solarviewsolarview Posts: 272
edited June 2012 in New Users

So, trying to deal with lighting here.
A bit of a headache so far. Which is pretty ironic considering I'm a professional photographer by trade. lol!
DAZ Studio lighting, does NOT behave like my studio lighting.
Been trying to dial in levels using multiple lights. Preview rendering only helps so much. And rendering takes so long, that's not real practical either. Would love to hear what everyone else might suggest here.

But back to my main question. What is UberEnvironment2???
I turned on a preset, UberEnvironment2 > Set HDR KHPark > Quality 1Lo.
Not really seeing what it's doing? Seems to look mostly like a better version of the 'headlamp' default lighting. It looks better, but can't do much with it. If I scan around the characters, it looks the same, lighter toward the viewpoint, with shadows to the back.
I do see the node for it in the middle of the scene (has a large 'C' there), but moving things around are giving me no visible changes to the lighting.
What gives? What does UberEnvironment2 actually do?

Thanks

- Sol

Post edited by solarview on

Comments

• niccipbniccipb Posts: 483
    edited June 2012

Hi...

Well a simple discription Of UE2 is that it is a sphere that projects light inward towards the little C at the center.
    The Preset that you used placed an image on the sphere and that image is used as a map for determining the amount of light that is passed at any given point in the image.
    The Quality 1Lo is just that, the light settings are set to the lowest quality which makes for faster rendering when using UE2. Higher settings mean longer render times.

For a more in depth on UE2, see this tutorial -> Learning UberEnvironment 2...
    ETA: Other tutorials can also be found in the Stickies in the Daz Studio Discussion forum