Bryce Birthday this year? Happy Birthday!!!!!!

Eva1Eva1 Posts: 1,249
edited December 1969 in Bryce Discussion

Some mentioned on another site that it's Bryce's birthday this year and it's 20 years old! (There's an article about the history of Bryce too on Wikipedia too, which I've only just discovered!). We should have a virtual Bryce birthday party! I'll bring some cake.....Or at the very least a Bryce birthday render thread:)

Comments

• Miss BMiss B Posts: 3,071
    edited July 2014

I hadn't realized it was around for 20 years, but then again, I started playing with Bryce back in 2000-2001, and it was already at version 4, so I guess 20 years is about right.

Happy Birthday Bryce!!! :coolsmile:

Post edited by Miss B on
  • ChoholeChohole Posts: 33,604
    edited December 1969

Yes but only for Mac users in 1994. PC users had to wait a couple years till 1997 when Bryce 2 was finally released for the PC, version 2 for the mac came out in 1996 and included independent light sources, complex atmospheric effects, the addition of primitive forms with Boolean methods to combine them, and a revamped Texture Editor, so really Bryce 2 can be considered the true ancestor of the Bryce we know and love now.

I started with Bryce 2.

• MadbatMadbat Posts: 382
    edited July 2014

I had Bryce 3, and Fractal Paint! I think I still have the disks floating around here somewhere. I remember building architectural recreations out of boolians...Roman architecture...argh!

Post edited by Madbat on
  • bytescapesbytescapes Posts: 1,807
    edited December 1969

chohole said:
    I started with Bryce 2.

And I had you pegged for an early adopter ... :)

I had the original Bryce 1.0 release, which ran only on 680x0 architectures (I ran it on a Mac IIci, which had a 68030 processor). They subsequently came out with a point release that ran on PowerPC. I still have my original Bryce 1 floppy disks somewhere.