How to pimp up the basic package

Electro-ElvisElectro-Elvis Posts: 846
edited December 1969 in Daz Studio Discussion

I am fairly new to DAZ Studio 4. I have downloaded the software and played around with it a bit. Now I thought to expand the possibilities slithgly. But I am a bit worried, wether the things I have in mind fit together. Maybe someone could give me an advice.

As I mentioned, I have the free DAZ Studio 4 with the genesis characters and a few clothes, which were within the package. I considered to buy the package "V4 and M4 Shapes for Genesis" too expand the possibilities of changing the shape of the characters. If I would buy later further stuff like hair and clothes do I have to watch out that they fit for genesis characters or could I also buy hair and clothes for V4 and M4 characters?

Thanks in advance for any answer.

Alex

Comments

• Tramp GraphicsTramp Graphics Posts: 2,404
    edited December 1969

Most hair and clothes for V4 and M4 will fit on Genesis with the aid of either Autofit or the Transfer Utility. I tend to use the latter more so than the former. The only real exception is footwear, particularly V4 footwear. That doesn't always work.

• JaderailJaderail Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Okay, first off the V4 and M4 shapes are a good place to start with expainding your use of Genesis. I and many others can recommend other sets that can expaind the usefulness of Genesis.

Hair items work like this. If they are made for Genesis they will work on all (except a few extreme shapes) of your Genesis characters. The V4 and M4 hairs can be made to work but you will need to learn a few tricks to get the best results on Genesis.

Clothing is another item, you can use V4 and M4 and even other figures Clothing on Genesis once you have the Shapes. They sometimes work very well and sometimes they need work to get good results. Clothing made for Genesis will work as said before on almost all your Genesis characters that you make.