Shader Mixer and Uber products

Ongoing MomentOngoing Moment Posts: 78
edited July 2012 in Daz Studio Discussion

I am getting into the shader mixer to see the nuts and bolts behind lighting and materials. I watched tutorials about building materials and shaders in 3D max. It is not a one to one translation, but it helps you understand the theory, architecture and objectives in building shaders. I am a 2 month newbie and the non documentation issue is really killing me.

So I go over to Studio 4 and the Daz Default Shader architecture is essentially very easy compared to the video I just watched. So I want to look at say my UberSurface Bricks and it won't load. UberEnvironment is the same thing. I highlight the shader and hit load current shader, choose light (even tried material) and nothing loads. Ugggg, so frustrating. Uber is essentially the main shader extension to access higher level rendering options for Daz studio. What gives?

Does Studio 4.0 have this capability? Am I missing something, like the architecture is not built off of the shader mixer but somewhere else that is not accessible? Or am I missing the mark as to what Uber products do?

Grateful3D

Post edited by Ongoing Moment on

Comments

• PendraiaPendraia Posts: 3,591
    edited December 1969

I am getting into the shader mixer to see the nuts and bolts behind lighting and materials. I watched tutorials about building materials and shaders in 3D max. It is not a one to one translation, but it helps you understand the theory, architecture and objectives in building shaders. I am a 2 month newbie and the non documentation issue is really killing me.