Collision detection problem in C8

TechymanTechyman Posts: 61
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

I am new to C8. I have tried using collision detection, but it does not seem to work, as all of my objects continue to pass through each other. Do you have to do something besides click on the icon? I have looked at some tutorials and documentation, but they seem to indicate that all you have to do to turn it on/off is click on the icon. Am I missin a step? I will greatly appreciate any help on this matter as I have been very frustrated with the quality of documentation.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• edited December 1969

Hey Techy,
    Just tried this in the 8.1 and the 8.5 beta and all works fine here.....Try just dropping a couple of standard primitive spheres into the scene and make sure the little collision detection icon looks like it is 3 small white circles arranged in a triangle and then bump them together.

Regards
    Paul

• TechymanTechyman Posts: 61
    edited December 1969

Thanks for the reply, I did what you suggested and the spheres worked. Unfortunately, while they collided with each other, they would not collide with the other objects that I already have in the scene. Specifically, I have two table tops made from replicated planks. I'll keep playing around, but so far I'm not overly impressed with C8's modeling capabilities. Maybe I just need a little more practice.

• RoguePilotRoguePilot Posts: 239
    edited December 1969

Techyman said:
    Specifically, I have two table tops made from replicated planks. I'll keep playing around, but so far I'm not overly impressed with C8's modeling capabilities. Maybe I just need a little more practice.

That may be the problem right there. Try it with actual geometry rather than replicated objects. You can convert anything that has been replicated if you wish.