Will hexagon be around for a while?

wburton72wburton72 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Hexagon Discussion

Will Daz keep hexagon around for a while or will it be removed from the store one day? I wouldn't want to buy a program that's on death row.

Comments

• FirstBastionFirstBastion Posts: 7,312
    edited December 1969

I don't know the answer to your query, but I've been using Hexagon for 2 1/2 years and will probably still use it even if they stop selling it because it's an efficient modelling program.

• useroperatoruseroperator Posts: 247
    edited March 2014

I would consider Hexagon an unsupported program, in the sense that it may not be updated ever again nor new versions released. But either way, it's still worth $20, even despite how old it is.

Hexagons interface, in my opinion, is unrivaled in ease of use.

Post edited by useroperator on
  • RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
    edited December 1969

I have a version of Amapi - pre-Hexagon - which was abandoned about ten years ago and works just as well as when i first got it :)

I'll keep using Hex as long as I have an OS which supports it, no matter what Daz does.

• RaytownmikeRaytownmike Posts: 58
    edited December 1969

It may still work but if you want to progress in this field you might need to change your focus to a supported app.
    I used to use Hex but have moved on to other applications. If you are on a Mac check out Cheetah3D for perhaps the best inexpensive package out there for it's cost.

• mjc1016mjc1016 Posts: 15,001
    edited December 1969

The question...does it still run?

Yes.

Does it still do what you need it to do?

Yes.

Then why does it need to be 'updated'?

If you are comfortable with everything...UI, features and so on, there is no need to change to something else, even if the company has quit 'supporting' a piece of software.