cylindrical UV stretched seam bug - WIP Star Altar

MysticWingsMysticWings Posts: 226
edited May 2014 in Carrara Discussion

Hello!

Back to my model project... And I decided to make a WIP thread since it's not working so well now.

I have two pictures. One is just the geometry with no textures so you can see the project.

Now, regarding the other one. As some of you already know, I'm quite new at 3d and just have Carrara for some weeks. So when it came to texturing I wanted to do it for now in Daz Studio to see how uv mapping is working since I am more familiar with the software. I will soon know how to do it in Carrara to, but one step at a time and is more quick if I try to see how things are working. I know this is a carrara forum, but I think that this problem as more to do with something in uv mapping than with daz studio, since I'm using the same technic I use to retexture objects in daz and this never happened.

As you can see, there's this part of the pilar where the texture is stretched. I believe it as something to do with the edges of the shape in uv map. It happens with every type of uv map I do. In this case is a cylindrical uv, but I've already tried planar, box... and it always give this kind of stretch.

Does anyone have an idea of why is this happening and how can I correct it?

Post edited by MysticWings on

Comments

• DartanbeckDartanbeck Posts: 21,103
    edited December 1969

We have tools that help to make UV Mapping easier for us, but I doubt it will ever be entirely easy.
    I have no clue what you might have done in DS. Does it have UV Mapping tools?

Anyways, yup. Not stretched, squished. That's what I'm talking about when a polygon's face shows as a line in the UV Map. This is the result of two edges being either on top of one another, or being very close, where in the actual model, they are not.