Create a character with a custom face from a photo

a.christie588a.christie588 Posts: 0
edited December 1969 in Carrara Discussion

Good evening,
I am new to Carrara and I need some help to create a custom face.
I found a tutorial tghat I have been trying to follow but I got stuck when it came to resize the photo to fill the head.

http://thinkdrawart.com/carrara-7-head-modeling-for-beginners

The size won't change and I can't align it with the 3d head.

Moreover, I would like to know if this method will allow me to produce a 3d head that will look like the picture or if I am just deaydreaming.

Thank you in advance for your support and answers.

Comments

• DUDUDUDU Posts: 1,945
    edited December 1969
  • a.christie588a.christie588 Posts: 0
    edited December 1969

Thank you for answering.
    That looks interesting. But will the character be rigged to be animated (I use Iclone to make my characters speak)?

edited December 1969

Why not ?
    They use some usual characters: V4, M4, Genesis...

edited December 1969

Ok then. I will give it a try. Thank you for the tip :-)
    As for the tuto I was mentionning in my first message, do you think it could work too?

edited December 1969

Afflicted, but I never used it but I saw surprising results!
    I am sure that somebody will be able to inform you (when he's awaked, hello Dart ?…).

• RoygeeRoygee Posts: 2,247
    edited December 1969

The tut you mentioned does work, but it gives far too much work to do. At the start, simply go to the top menu, Selection->Select by Shading Domain->Skin Face. Then invert selection.

Be sure to save your result under a different name, or you'll overwrite the original.

The head on my avatar was made from two photo's - full face and side view - using a free app FaceWorxs, parented to M4 body.

http://looxis-faceworx.en.uptodown.com/

edited December 1969

Hi again,
    well, I tried Faceshop but I did not get any satisfactory result.